Ruby

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    Activities i am interested in:

    Currently camping and hiking in Albania

    My next destination:

    Albania
    View all
  • Description

    Hey,
    I'm 20 years old, just finished secondary school and off to study Biology at university next year.
    I am super active and love all outdoor sports, especially if they take me underwater or to the top of something tall. I enjoy spending as much time as possible outdoors and exploring.
    Growing up always gardening with my Dad and around lots of animals gave me a love for nature which has lead me to develop an interest in exploring ideas of sustainable living and eco-friendly alternatives. When I’m older I want to work towards self sufficiency; I’m eager to start picking up the skills to do so now and have some fun working hard at the same time. I’m especially keen to learn permaculture methods and beekeeping! But really just anything that works close and harmoniously with nature.
    I'm not afraid to get stuck in, or of hard work. I like to be constantly on the go! Also, i'm super extroverted and love to get to know new people and languages.

  • Interests

    Camping
    Hiking
    Farming
    Sustainability
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I have lots of experience looking after and babysitting kids from ages 2-12 and love nothing more! I’ve also been a mathematics tutor for a young girl.
    My grandparents live on a small holding so i'm confident with livestock and all animals. I've kept chickens, quail, sheep, dogs, ferrets and cats!
    I'm good in gardens, my family have always had an allotment or a poly tunnel. I also used to fish quite a lot when i was younger. From all this in my childhood I have a nice base for working outside, but I am really keen to learn more sustainable methods than the ones I’ve grown up knowing.
    I love to constantly be active and outdoors and i'm an early riser.
    I can play the flute and read music. I know Latin, Spanish and French to GCSE level, which is pretty basic, but i'm a native English speaker and have enjoyed having 3 exchange students so i'm confident in my ability to help others learn English if they would like to.
    I’ve worked as a kitchen porter in a busy hotel so i’m comfortable with manual labour.
    My last work away found me looking after donkeys, training dogs, doing DIY tasks and helping to build a stable with metal cutting, painting and more.
    I rode horses all my life till 5 years ago so, though a bit rusty, I’m very comfortable around horses.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    21

  • What else ...

    I love reading, the outdoors and playing board and card games of any sort.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No.

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback