DIY/Decorating/Gardening help needed on beautiful, unique island on outskirts of London, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 115 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    29/10/2018

  • Badges

Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, I am Sandra and I live on a beautiful and friendly island in the middle of the Thames, bang in the middle between Weybridge and Shepperton, close to Heathrow and close to London, but it feels a million miles away, which is the best of both worlds :-)

    I have just (almost) finished building a new house, and now there is a bit of DIY/decorating left to do, as well as some gardening/landscaping and tidying around the house/cleaning windows, which I am looking for help with for 4 - 5 hours a day.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Help

    Help

    I require help with painting and decorating, some indoors, some outdoors (e.g. varnishing decking, fencing) as well as some gardening/landscaping/tidying up around the house. Ideally I am looking for workawayers with some experience in painting/DIY.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live on an island in the Thames which offers a lovely and somewhat unusal lifestyle, there is no road access, but we have a couple of footbridges. It is a very welcoming and friendly community. Travellers would be able to improve their English, sample the lifestyle of small community waterside living and make new friends. I am an Architectural & Interior Designer and could give students in that field some insight into my work and current projects as well as the practical implications of building projects. I attach some pictures of the island and surrounding area.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and German. A bit of rusty school French and Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a lovely guest bed room which can accommodate 2 , however it has a kingsize bed, so if 2 workawayers stay it would mean sharing the bed. The guestroom has it's own bathroom.

    Food could be a mixture of shared meals, as well as the guests preparing their own. I would provide some cooked evening meals in the week but I am not home/don't cook every evening, so some evenings you would just cook something for yourself....

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My home has the river Thames at the end of the garden, and the visitor would be able to use my Kayak to explore the river, the surrounding area is beautiful and peaceful, long riverside walks and towpaths ideal for cycling. London is close by with all the fantastic museums and everything else London has to offer. There are direct trains from Shepperton into London, which takes about 45 mins and fast trains from Walton on Thames, which take about 20 mins.

    The local area offers lots in terms of walking, biking and watersports and of course lovely pubs. My home is only a 20 mins drive from London Heathrow and there are bus links to the surrounding towns.

    Please note I have a cat and often mind dogs, so anyone with allergies to pets might not be suitable.

    Maximum length of stay would be 2 weeks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album



Host ref number: 157487674757