Revival of an old estate and a mill in the forest near Plitvice national park, Croatia

Country

Croatia

Favourited 228 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    31  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/04/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    182

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone!
    We are an italian-croatian couple that recently got an addition to the family, a little baby boy, and we are living on an old country estate in central Croatia.
    We moved here a few years ago and since then we made some big improvements to the place, especially with the help of many volunteers that stayed with us in the last year.
    Our wish is to bring more life to this beautiful area that has been abandoned for a long time, to create an open platform where people can learn from each other, relax, enjoy, be creative, make new experiences surrounded by untouched nature and leave their mark to make it even more beautiful.

    NOTE: Due to a change in our circumstances, this year we can't plan too much ahead, but you can still contact us and we'll let you know what is the situation one month in advance. Thanks a lot for your interest!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Enjoy the beautiful natural ambient, practice your Italian, English or Croatian, strengthen your muscles doing some useful physical work, visit the nearby Plitvice national park and explore the surroundings in your free time. You can learn something about the culture of Croatia and share your experiences of your travels and your own country, and of course, have fun!
    Being an IT consultant and a translator, we are still learning the skills needed to live surrounded by nature and take care of it. We will share all of our knowledge, but more importantly we are really eager to learn.

  • Help

    Help

    We are reclaiming land that has been neglected for a few decades, and we could use your help with many things.
    Also, we very much appreciate help with cooking, washing the dishes and basic cleaning, since taking care of our baby doesn't leave us much time for that.

    On our property there is a beautiful forest with a spring, a stone water-mill that needs to be rebuilt and several wooden/stone buildings in different conditions. We have almost completed the renovation of the main house, and the guest house is still in progress but in usable state.

    Always welcome skills and experience in:
    - Tree surgery and pruning
    - Carpentry, masonry and construction related skills ( roofing, flooring, foundation, framing, tiling )
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️Super appreciated experience with natural and sustainable materials*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️
    - Landscaping and especially help with the water banks and pathways of the spring area
    - Permaculture design, garden planning
    - Plumbing

    Some ongoing tasks for which we are always very grateful:
    - Mowing the grass
    - Clearing the paths in the forest from dead wood and branches
    - Cooking and help in the kitchen
    - House maintenance

    Some projects we're looking forward to in the near future:
    - "ram pump" that will bring the water from the spring to the houses using just two valves and physics. Includes fixing the mill pond and digging in the pipes.
    - filtering system that will make the spring water 100% safe for use (it's not drinkable at the moment)
    - setting up a medium-size garden (organic and forest gardening, raised beds, mulching, low-maintenance irrigation systems etc.)
    - restructuring the old wooden hay-shed, with new foundations and roof that will eventually carry the solar panels
    - using the water mill to create clean energy and get electricity for the mill area
    - building stone walls and re-grouting the old ones

    If you are interested in taking part in these projects and have knowledge and experience in some of these fields, we would be happy to host you also for longer periods.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Croatian, Italian, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A lot of camping space, a small caravan and the use of bathroom and basic kitchen. There is a guest house that is still under construction (the inside part still needs to be completed), but it is suitable for summer use. If needed, we can provide air mattresses for the tents and bedding, but we recommend having your own sleeping bag. The caravan has two smaller double beds.
    Since we are not connected to the communal water system, the water we have is limited so we ask everyone to use it with consideration and awareness. During the summer, a great option for refreshment is swimming in the crystal clear nearby rivers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The location is reachable from the "D1" road that connects the capital Zagreb to the coast, passing through the famous National Park Plitvice Lakes (45km).

    We also recommend visiting the beautiful millers' village Rastoke (19 km), the new Karlovac Aquarium (40 km), Barac Cave (46 km) and there are many more fun activities in the area like horse riding, rafting, quads, paintball, hiking, cycling, swimming in Korana and Mrežnica river, etc.

    Our place is not directly reachable by public transport, but we can pick you up in Slunj which is our closest little town (basic shops, post office, bank...) with long distance buses, and it is 20km away.

    IMPORTANT: It's good to be aware that without your own means of transport, you depend on us or somebody else to drive you to and from the property if you want to go somewhere.
    Also, we're in the middle of nature so expect some insects (there are dragonflies and fireflies too, if you come at the right time.. ;)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our dog Lia, on watch
Plitvice Lakes, beautiful in all seasons
Korana river, near Rastoke
The stream and mill area
Our first experimental garden
First days at our place...


















Host ref number: 145127595926