Help us build a concrete block work wall, while enjoying the Gers countryside, France

Favourited 5 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


Contact Register


  • Description


    Relaxing, chilled out location, with no kids or animals! My husband Tony and I purchased our French dream 12 years ago as a holiday home for us and our 3 kids. Finally two years ago we sold our UK home having seen our young adult children settle in to careers and have moved over lock, stock and barrel!

    We have a great social life here with both English and French speakers and enjoy cooking with fresh ingredients and chilling out in the evening with a glass of wine or beer. We both run a property maintenance company but need help with a small building project at home in the garden.

    It's a beautiful location and we feel very lucky to be here, given that we still have to work, it's a lovely place to do it!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Language practice

  • Help


    Our main project is building a wall in our garden with concrete blocks. So you would have to be someone who has completed this type of work before.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some French.

  • Accommodation


    The house was built in 1968 and we have modernised the inside, but are in the process of renovating the garden and installing a pool. You will have a double bedroom with ensuite shower room.

    We are a 150 metres from the village that has a shop, bar and restaurant. There are various larger towns within 15 min drive that have regular weekly markets. We have beautiful views over the Gers countryside, with the the Pyrenees mountains as a backdrop!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are surrounded by vineyards, beautiful walks, lakes, market towns with cafes and restaurants. We are two hours from the Atlantic coast & skiing in the mountains. We will provide three meals for you and expect five hours work a day in return.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy meeting people and learning and sharing experiences with them. We would like to improve our French language and can reciprocate with English. We are generally pretty chilled out but like to get things done in good order...we enjoy meal times with a glass or two of wine!

    If you'd like to learn about the area for maybe a potential move here, we could share our experiences with you to help you along, or not, whatever you prefer! Equally, if you are on a mini adventure or break of your own, we'd love the opportunity to meet you and listen to your experiences, aspirations etc.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Host ref number: 119463544825