Sylvie

  • Italy
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    Activities i am interested in:

    I am currently living in Sardinia (Italy) and I am looking to volunteer in Asia in a buddhist nunnery or monastery.

    My next destination:

    India - from Dec 2021 until Jun 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Namaste,

    I am currently living in Sardinia (Italy) and I am looking to volunteer in Asia in a buddhist nunnery or monastery.

    I am a 60 years old French Canadian woman living in Italy for 30 years. I am an active and fit person. I've been practicing yoga for many years, I also like hiking in the nature. I speak French, Italian and English.
    I want to continue my spiritual research, deepen my knowledge and improve the practice of mindfulness , meditation, pranayama, Mantra, asana. I like to get out of my comfort zone, I appreciate the challenge to live new experiences, meet interesting people and get back to the essential.

    I had a taste of a community life style in 2018 since I spent one month in Rishikesh (India) and also during my last trip (2019-20) when I was back to India visiting yoga hashram and communities in the state of Tamil Nadu.

    I am not scared of work, I think it is a sort of meditation, a way to the here and now. I like gardening and spending time with kids. I have a good knowledge of computer and I’m willing to teach what I’ve learned in my long life ;)
    I’m vegetarian, a nature lover and a pretty good cook as well.

    I would prefer to stay in the same place for at least 1 month in order to be able to better appreciate the environment.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Languages
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Self development
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching
    DIY and building projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Language practice:
    My first language is French since I was born and grew up in Quebec (Canada). After 30 years in Italy, I can speak very good Italian too. I am fluent in English and I know a little bit of Spanish.

    Teaching:
    I always liked to teach, it’s something that comes natural to me. For 5 years I volunteered in my community in Italy giving computer lessons to elderly. I can also help children with their homework.

    Gardening:
    Here in Sardinia, we’ve been growing our own organic fruits and vegetables, I practice crop rotation and synergistic garden and I am learning permaculture.

    Babysitting / child care;
    I have a 27 year old son, grown with lots of love, positive thinking, motivation and encouragement. I love to spend time with children because they give me the opportunity to become more present.

    Elderly Companion:
    I thing elderly can be a great example of wisdom and awakening. They more than everybody deserve to be loved, respected and listened too. I took care of elderly in the past.

    Cooking / shopping:
    I can cook delicious nutrient vegetarian and vegan meals I believe that If food is prepared with love and care it’s much more better and nutritious. I helped in the kitchen to cook for 60 persons at my last workaway host in Indian in an alternative forest school .

    General Maintenance
    My companion is a carpenter and I have been working and helping him for many years with all kind of task; sanding, painting, etc. I am a very good carpenter helper.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    i can teach french (native language), Italian, english and i will like to improve my english

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    60

  • What else ...

    i have special sleeping requirements and will prefer to have my own room, even if small and very modest

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      eggs and dairy intolerance

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian / vegan

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback