Tina

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Canada, Croatia, France, French Polynesia, India, Italy, Jamaica, Kenya, Malaysia ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/07/2019 - 30/03/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am a very positive, happy, young at heart lady who enjoys life to the full. I am a PADI Rescue Diver, love to snow ski and enjoy sailing. I have experience meeting and greeting tourists, backpackers within hospitality and have held managerial roles in Ski Resorts, Guest Houses and Dive Centres, also house-sitting and looking after family pets (Horses, dogs, cats, even chickens) some rescued animals that need that extra love and attention.
    I am seeking long-term placements of 2 months or more, so I can become part of the community and workforce, instead of just passing through. I particularly love learning about different cultures, the way locals live, their language, how they cook and go about their work and daily chores.
    I have travelled extensively, my greatest adventure being an 'overland' trip from the UK to Australia in 1984 and lived in some amazing countries, including South Africa, Australia, Mexico, Canada and the French Alps, to name a few.
    I am currently taking some years away from my professional career in the UK to explore the world and help people on a voluntary basis. I have spent a year helping others in France, Mexico, Canada, Australia, Philippine Islands, Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, Sri Lanka and currently in Mauritius (April 2020)
    I have enjoyed several managerial roles overseas:
    Seven months as a SKI RESORT MANAGER in the French Alps (oui, je parle francais) 2017-2018 where I did everything required to run two ski resorts, from managing chefs and hosts in 12 large chalets, dealing with all holiday makers' needs and issues, purchasing ski passes and equipment , supermarket shopping for menu ingredients and alcohol, to laundry, admin/budgets and conversing with outside companies in French.
    DIVE CENTRE MANAGER, TULUM, MEXICO: For four months I managed a PADI Dive Centre & Tourist Information shop in Tulum, Mexico, 2018. Managing a small team of volunteer workers adjacent to a busy backpackers' hostel. Organising dive and cultural tours, bicycle hire, passing on local information and liaising with tour operators. I was entrusted with finances, shop security, recruitment and managing staff, purchasing, computerised administration and the smooth running of the shop.
    THEATRE/CINEMA/BAR/DINER, PHNOM, PENH, CAMBODIA: Greeting guests, ordering food and snacks, setting up films, running the bar, keeping the place clean and tidy, security of finances for the day and evening and locking up the place at night.
    GUEST HOUSE MANAGER, SRI LANKA: November-January 2020 managing a guest house in Weligama, South Sri Lanka, where I organised Beach Cleanup Days within the community, booking in and out guests, making smoothie bowl breakfasts for guests, maintaining computerised bookings, keeping financial records straight. Ensuring guests have a comfortable and fulfilled stay with activities at the resort and beyond. I worked closely with the daily morning housemaid, assisting with room changes, cooking Sri Lankan lunch, ordering ingredients and organising laundry collections.
    I get great satisfaction helping people and enjoy working in a team of people of all ages. I don't mind getting my hands dirty when it comes to DIY projects and garden maintenance and have experience using large electrical tools, such as chainsaws, cement mixers and grinders, etc. Give me some paint brushes, and I will be in my element renovating interior/exterior walls and furniture. I love to be busy and am also patient when times are quiet. Most of all, I love to learn :-).
    As well as Workaway placements, I have done house-sitting and pet care around the world. In 2014 I was a nanny/teacher for a year, to a young boy and his baby brother, living in France, South Africa and Ibiza with the same family.
    I love being around people, having a great time at work and at play. I have a great sense of humour and can be serious and professional, when the time is right. If you choose me to work for you, I am confident you will value my input, energy, enthusiasm, empathy and positive approach (with smiles) towards everyone and everything I do. I have received compliments from young and aged saying I am very inspirational, just through chatting with them. This I take as a massive compliment :-)
    I have an International Driving Licence and am computer literate.
    Please contact me if you would like me to work with you and I hope I will be available to assist :-D

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Management, Recruitment, Sales, Hospitality, PA/Secretarial at Director level, Computer: Input, Communication, Excel Spreadsheets, Word, Internet and many more office programmes, Bookkeeping, Fundraising, Reception, Teacher's Assistant in state and private schools, Carer for MS sufferers, Volunteer work, House Sitting, Childcare, Nanny, Carer of rescued animals and family pets, Garden and landscaping, Decorating, PADI Rescue Diver. Snow Ski. Dinghy Sailing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Age

    60

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I am adaptable to any situation and am not afraid of hard work. Location/distance is not a problem. I am happy to work anywhere, long term or short term. I am also confident driving any vehicle.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nothing

    • Special dietary requirements
      No special dietary requirement

Photos

Feedback