new host  

Learn about regenerative farming with our little family in Upper Burringbar, Australia

  • Favourited 5 times
  • Last activity: 16 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Our little family live in the valley of Upper Burringbar where we are custodians of a beautiful 50 acre property. Rosie Andrew, little baby Riley and Alby our dog all love this amazing place we call home.

    We have an old avocado orchard which we are currently regenerating pruning down adding biology and changing from conventional to organic/regenerative. We are using a mix of regenerative principles working with nature to put life back into our soil and our plants, which our small flock of chickens help with as they roan through the trees. Our small orchard is surround by natural beauty including some native remnant rainforest which we are helping to grow. A small creek flows through with a lovely area for swims and often have platypus playing in our dam.

    We have been on the property for 2 1/2 years now and are ready to share our space with someone who has a care for nature, a will to learn and help out with the many things that exist on a small farm to help create a space that productive and ecologically sound. I (Andrew) have set up and run a number of organic farms in the area over the years using Regenerative farming principles and enjoy sharing knowledge with those looking to learn more about producing food from the land whilst helping improve the life of it.

    We are currently not operating commercially and workaway helpers will not being involved in the sales of any produce as we are pruning trees heavily and wont have any production for a good 3 years.

    We are 8 min from Burringbar village, 40 min to Byron Bay 25 min to Pottsville and Brunswick heads and 45 min to Gold Coast when your hear you feel like your away from it all but we are still close to many beaches and great towns.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer a great opportunity to get an idea of how a small scale farm works, learn plenty about organic food growing and Native Australian wild life and subtropical rainforest.
    We live in an amazing regions surrounded by beautiful beaches, bush walking areas and great towns

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Plenty to choose from :)
    Helping around the house garden making garden beds, weeding and planting. In the orchard, planting trees and other pants, mulching, brush cutting, pruning and weeding
    Bush regeneration helping our native forrest come alive by removing non desirable plants.
    Collecting the eggs from our chickens, helping move the chickens which we do weekly.
    Watching over Riley from time to time
    Lots of pats to ur friendly Kelpie Alby :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Interest in Spanish and Italian we both know a little of each

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Currently we have a room in our 4 bedroom house. We also have plenty of great camping spaces if that is somthing that suites you too.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is much preferred if you have your own mode of transport there is lots to see and do in the area but really does need a car. As you will be in our home we expect respect for quiet time after dinner and we are generally in bed early.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 972491228918

Photos

Feedback

Look after my cats and chicken while I'm away in Cookernup, Australia
Help out on my little slice of paradise, a hobby farm in the surf town of Agnes Water, Australia