Our family welcomes you to our home in a small village called Valnesfjord, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in the north of Norway, in a small willage called Valnesfjord. Mamma Mathilde (33) works as a project manager for building a new type, universally designing school and dad Håvard (36) is the general manager of the family's own company that produces sustainable food, a banquet room and a small inn that opens in winter 2020. Together they have three boys of 2, 6 and 7 years Old. These go to school right by where we live, little man goes to kindergarten. The boys like music (we have a separate music room in the house), play, swim, be in nature, cook, participate in what is happening, visit friends. We have a busy life with high activity, but when we have time we love to crawl up the sofa with good food and a series. We want someone who can help us in the house, air the dog, help us with the kids and generally be a helping hand in the house. In the springtime and summer we need someone to hjelp us with gardering and carpenting / renovating our old cabin in the woods -borth the cabin and the garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Being part of our family could be an enrichment with new acquaintances, being part of our projects by helping us with what is happening at home. In addition, we are surrounded by beautiful scenery, just 15 minutes from the entrance to Sjunkhatten National Park. Beautiful summer and winter. We have both a bike, a small boat and skis that visitors can borrow. If you have a certificate, we also have a car.

  • Help

    Help

    In the springtime and summer 2020 we need someone to hjelp us with gardening and carpenting / renovating our old cabin ( close up to Sjunkhatten nasjonal park) in the woods 10 minutts driving from our home -both the cabin and the Cabin-garden need some love ♥️

    On weekdays the kids go to kindergarten and school. The family has a dog, Masha, who needs a walk in the morning. When we are at work, there is sometimes a need for help for housework (folding of clothes, cleaning). We pick up the kids and go home about 15-15.30. In the afternoons we make dinner and eat together. We are very fond of good food. We will be happy if you want to cook some of the days, preferably dishes from your country and your culture. In the afternoons in the weeks there are homework, a few days we go on swimming, hiking in the woods or such. Our children do not speak English, but are good at making themselves understood and quick in learning. It would be a great bonus if a visit by one or two volunteers could give them better language understanding.

    In the spring/summertime we also have a small cabin we run to renovate as we take day trips, it is located in the forest. There we make food outdoors, the children play freely in the forest and the dog runs loose. Here we also spend days on weekends if we do not go to the nearest town of Bodø to shop, go to the cinema or the library. You (also open to friends or couples who are willing to share rooms) who want to come to us are happy to take part in our everyday life and be our "extended arm" on busy days where only one of us is together with three children. Some days we have evening work and if it suits for the children and the volunteer it will occasionally be needed for babysitting afternoon time. We work on the floor below, in the same building, so will never be far away if anything should occur.

    Hours will be 5 hours a day / 5 days a week. We set up a work plan together, as this will probably vary from week to week and what skills you have.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own room with a dubble bed and bathroom (the shower is in the familybathroom)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a gym and a musicroom in the house. If you like nature and want to explore the north of Norway, the village Valnesfjord (where we live) is very autentic. We live five minutes walking from trainstation and buss. The closest city is Bodø (35 min train/buss)

    If you want to expiriense the rural «back to basic» lifestyle we have a small cabin beside the cabin that we are renovating. This small cabin has one room for sleeping and one toiletroom. One of the things we need hjelp with is to built a Outdoor kitchen to this small cabin. Maybe you can hjelp us with that and afterwords try it out ?

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Close to wild nature
Taken from the livingroom window

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 225951217949