Kelly

From: Italy

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belgium, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Italy, Malta, Panama, Spain, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/10/2017 - 30/11/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    992

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello potential Workaway host,
    My name is Kelly (some people say: easy-going, hard worker, funny, loves kids, independent, practical, good cook, always ready to help out where needed).
    Originally from the US, I have been living in Italy for over 25 years (I have dual US/EU citizenship).
    Past work experience includes: running a farm (sheep, chickens, pigs, donkey - making and selling cheese and bread), working as a secretary for the CEO of a small company, and now freelance translator.
    And most importantly raising 3 kids - 3 wonderful adults now.
    Over the years I have hosted a number of people at my house (WOOFERS, aupairs, workawayers, HelpX, random people) so I know the importance of being a good helper and how it can be a wonderful experience (almost always) or a nightmare (a few). I have a good eye for seeing what needs to be done and doing it. I understand that I am a guest at your place so ultimately you are the boss and we do things your way.
    Things I would prefer:
    having my own room (I'm kinda too old to honestly want to sleep in a 12-bed dorm for more than 4 nights), having a basic idea of what you need me to do to help you and being left to get it done/make it happen, a reliable as possible internet connection (on the clear understanding that in places like the DR this is not always possible due to blackouts and trucks knocking down power lines etc).
    Things I would love:
    to spend a couple of months in a Spanish-only speaking place. (with warm weather).
    Quiero mucho de aprender espanol. Yo entiendo más o menos ma non hablo - este podría ser un aspecto positivo por usted :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    cooking, crafts, sorting out challenging, unexpected situations, chair caning, gardening, helping others

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Age

    51

  • Nationality

    US/ Italy dual citizenship

  • What else ...

    To give you a better idea about me, here are some comments from workawyers who have stayed at my house:

    " She and her family welcomed me with open arms and made me feel like one of the family from the minute I arrived. She has an amazing group of friends, which isn't surprising considering her generous, smart and caring nature. She also has a great sense of humor, not to mention a fantastic cook. "

    "Thanks to you Kelly ! What a beautifull moment i spend here. Kelly and her familly and friends are warming, interesting and funny persons. She is a very relaxed and friendly host and I felt at home immediately. She also helped organise a rock climbing trip with some locals and info on the nearby mountain caves. Kelly is fun and sociable and I enjoyed my time immensely."

    "The atmosphere in her home is great and I really treated opportunity to meet her and her friends as an incredible cultural exchange. We are very grateful for all we could see and experience! "

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

chair caning: just a hobby
Can cook
home base
making ravioli with workawayer Celine from S. AFrica
me and my kids
at my latest workaway experience
giving mom a break
on the road again

Feedback