Laura

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    A creative being, big movie fan, animal lover and an old soul at heart.
    I am a freelance artist/illustrator and pet portrait artist from London, UK. To supplement my artistic dreams, I also work in theatre in various front of house roles including front of house supervisor as well as in the box office and as a duty manager. From time to time I also work as a TV and film extra which is always quite exciting and fun to do. I am also a trained salsa dancer as dancing is another one of my passions.
    I used to play the violin and I am a keen classical alto singer.
    I currently live at home with my mum, our dog Truffle and a tortoise called Basil as well as 2 gold fish in the garden pond. I do all my artsy stuff and commissions at home on my dining room table which is almost always covered in pastel dust!
    I am fun, enthusiastic and always put 100% into everything I do, some might say I am a bit of a perfectionist. I am a people person who loves meeting new people and I am always keen to learn new things and expand on my existing skills and knowledge.
    A few years ago, myself and a friend went inter-railing around Europe and that is when I think I caught the travel bug.
    Back in March I set off to Australia on my first ever workaway adventure. It was the first time I had traveled on my own and my first time visiting the land down under. I have to say it was the best experience of my life. I learnt new skills including DIY, gardening and building and gained extra confidence and proved to myself that I can do anything if I put my mind to it. I volunteered in a gift shop on a eucalyptus distillery on Kangaroo Island and later at a beach house in Adelaide and met some amazing people along the way who have become lifelong friends.
    I loved Australia so much that it was very difficult to leave and I only wish I could have stayed longer but I made a promise to return as soon as I could and see more of this beautiful country.
    I have set my sights on returning in 2019 to make more memories and again gain more new experiences and adventures and meet new people along the way- as they say you only live once!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Language skills, I did a french exchange as part of my french A-level so got to live with a french family and worked in a nursery school in Rouen, France. I assisted the children in class and was able to teach them a little bit about my culture and the English language.
    I have many artistic skills, I am a fine artist and greeting card illustrator and pet portrait artist so could lend a hand on art projects. I also have knowledge of Photoshop. You can check out my art blog here at www.laurahepworth88.blogspot.com and on instagram @laurahepworth_art
    I have worked primarily in hospitality roles for over 10 years working in bars and lounges as front of house staff, receptionist and as a hospitality manager. I have also worked in travel retail as well as working as a VIP concierge agent at Heathrow airport, London.
    My jobs have been very much people facing roles so I am confident in dealing with the public and enjoy meeting new people. I am professional and have a good eye for detail and I am always up for new challenges. I am a problem solver, who thinks quickly on their feet and who is approachable at all times and can remain calm under pressure.
    I am friendly and outgoing and would love to learn new skills along the way.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I would welcome the opportunity to work with animals or in a hospitality role.
    I want to lend a helping hand where I can and generally get stuck in.
    I am hardworking, never workshy and I am not afraid to get my hands dirty and be hands on in.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback