Emma

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Germany, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/09/2021 - 31/12/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    - Currently, I own a minibus and am spending time to convert this into a living space. I am always pushing myself to learn new things so I will gain skills in woodwork, electricity, interior design.

    -At the end of September I begin my second year as a mature student studying at Aberystwyth University; Psychology and Education; Joint Honors.

    - I also am working as a waitress in various hotels and restaurants, such as five star hotel 'Chewton Glen' with an agency, part time

    - I have a level 2 Certificate in British Sign Language (Not American)

    - I am trying to learn to touch type at the moment

    -I have done 6 workaways before, 3 in Germany, 2 in Belgium and 1 in France.

    - Previously, I worked for 3 1/2 years in a mainstream school in the city of Southampton for children aged between 7 - 11

    - My role was largely with a SEN (Special Education needs) student on a 1 -1 basis

    - I have been on many school trips with children including residential trips to outdoor places, where we have learnt about nature and teamwork. I have normally had to take responsibility for a group of children on these trips

    - I ran an after school club called 'Creative Club' which is an art based club

    - I want to learn about other styles of education and what else is out there for educating children. I believe that children's education should be a journey of love and interest rather than 'box-ticking' and should be motivational for them

    - I am quite a calm individual, very friendly and like to be useful

    - I ride my bike lots to work and back and like to keep healthy

    -I have been growing vegetables since I was 9 or 10 years old, I've grown carrots, parsnips, swede, peas, spinach, sweetcorn, strawberries...

    -I previously volunteered with a elderly care charity for about a year and a half and I was a 'befriender' where I visited a lonely elderly gentleman once a week to provide companionship

    I hope all of this gives you a positive impression of me as I feel I am a positive person and want to be engaged with projects and people. I care for people and the world as a whole.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Photography
    Cooking & food

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
  • More details about your skills

    Working with children, art and craft (knitting, sewing, paper craft), playing classical guitar, general computer skills (some Photoshop, learning touch typing, Microsoft Word, PowerPoint, etc.), cooking, gardening (growing sunflowers, roses, houseplants and lots of other veg), elderly care, writing, reading (academic and fiction).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Sign language (American): Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, currently I am not Vegetarian or Vegan but aiming to make change and love Vegan food

Photos

Feedback