• Netherlands
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Email verified
Top Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Edinburgh, United Kingdom - from May 2023 until Jul 2024
    View all
  • Description

    Hi! I'm Charlotte (67 years old, but don't be put off by my age! I'm energetic, youngish and fun).
    I'm a writer (among others: children's cookbooks and parenting book) and children and youth coach.
    For seventeen years I have been the manager of a children's restaurant in Amsterdam, so working with kids and cooking are two of my specialties.

    My three grown-up children are all working.
    I'm partly retired and that's why I want to travel and work as a volunteer.

    I love to read books, cook, work outside, help with plans and projects (brainstorm, coming up with ideas, realizing ideas), decorate, stencil, knit, sew, craft, sing and play the guitar. I like to do a variety of things during the day. So if you need somebody to garden all day, or clean your house, I'm not the person you are looking for.

    All my life I have travelled, mainly to meet people and learn about their way of life and cultures and I also have done a lot of voluntary work in East and West Africa, Bali and the Netherlands. That's what I want to find in Workaway: exchanging our cultures, getting to know you, other volunteers and exchanging ideas and values.

    You can count on me as a hardworking person, sociable and I love to be on myself (so you don't have to feel responsible to entertain me all the time!) or with others.
    I love doing all kinds of odd jobs, also tasks I never did before, because I like learning new skills. And I'm very quick in settling myself in, seeing what is necessary to do, taking initiative but also following instructions.

    Look at my website to get an impression what I do and what I'm like: Sorry only in Dutch!

    Or read my blog about my travels with Workaway:

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Indonesian: Beginner

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  


    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    Cooking and writing cookbooks
    I love to cook all kinds of food. I used to have a children's restaurant where I cooked with children. So I love to cook with your kid(s).
    In Sri Lanka where I Workawayed at an Ayurveda retreat, I wrote together with other volunteers a cookbook full of Sri Lankan recipes. The Mahagedara cookbook.

    Sewing and crafting
    I can sew and knit, make jewellery and paint, and stencil. In Uganda I painted a schoolroom with stencils and in Burkina Faso a bar, and in Italy doors, so if you want to have a funny room or wall, I can bring my stencils and make one.
    I also did a lot of sewing: In South Africa I Workawayed on a farm and sewed aprons and pillows, In France I made bags and pillows, in Samos I stitched covers for a bench by hand. It took me a week!

    I love ordening and helping you to bring order in your house. Or hotel. I did that in France and left my hosts happy with the result. In Burkina Faso I did all kinds of ordening in a hotel, I even made a book with all the trees of the garden!

    Raising funds and do charity work
    I have my own Association and helped to raise money for a school in Uganda and a waterproject. Also in Sri Lanka I raised money for a nice bookproject at the school I worked in and helped a handicapped boy with buying a wheelchair.
    So if you have a nice project and I can help....

  • Age


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements