Building: Finish the Earthship being built in beautiful Vale De Prazeres

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 515 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Having 3ha in a beautiful Valley watching the Gardunha mountains, with lots of green and water. Plenty of camping spots and potentially structures. Trying to be self sustainable as much as possible.

    Looking for short and long term people who would like to stay and live on the land, all happy and good together :)

    We built a self-sustainable Earthship building starting from an existing stone ruin and a team of volunteers, supervised by Michael Reynolds & carried out by a group of experienced European Earthship builders. At the moment still need plenty of help to finish the build, interior and exterior, and learning a lot about Earthship as a result.
    My 6 years old daughter and me are living now in the Earthship we built.
    Also a lot of stuff to do in the garden. We built a raised beds system with water flowing around each bed. There is a lot to improve there and in other areas of the land. Lots of potential.
    I always ask the volunteers what they want to do, as there are so many missions they can choose from. Each one is working where he likes the most, garden, house, and the specific mission he'll want. They choose their preferred hours as well.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn about Earthships, sustainable living, permaculture, living in a place with no stress/

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment still need plenty of help to finish the build, interior and exterior, and learning a lot about Earthship as a result. Also there is a permaculture garden which needs more attention...
    I have a 6 years old girl, so also kids are welcome :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, Hebrew, Spanish, Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A dome house, camping, tents, hot solar shower, toilets facilities, a lounge area with an equipped kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of trails to hike around, villages to see, local festivals year round, all not so far. A close village to go to.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    No more than 3 hours per day, 5 days per week (food not provided)

  • ...

    This host charges a fee

    read more
    $15 a week (only if 15 hours)














Host ref number: 999213276197