Experience life during a farm-stay in Texas, on an island in Gulf of Mexico, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 80 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Small horse stable/farm 1 mile from beach and bay. We provide therapeutic horseback riding and gardening activities on a non-profit basis. We also have chickens and bees. The Workaway person would help with general home, farm and animal care duties to include cleaning, fencing, maintenance, gardening, help with horses and riding sessions, and maintaining chickens and bees.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A traveler with interest in therapy and horses would get valuable experience. The farm is on a touristic island so there are events and things to do. I am also about 1 hour from Houston. There is no public transportation there that I know of.

  • Help

    Help

    General farm duties as well as specific horse skills are the main areas of need. Some house cleaning and home maintenance. Computer/social media help always appreciated but not necessary. There is no work involving rental accomodations.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have 2 good sized bedrooms each with a closet and windowseat. There is a shared bathroom with 2 sinks. Basic food supplied 2-3 meals/day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Biking is pretty easy as island is flat. Could work out other transport as needed.
    Good internet.
    Cats and dogs in house. Do not apply if allergic - thanks

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good internet. ATT fiber

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    negotiable

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 999177477163