Help needed on our family farm on the Isle of Mull, UK

Country

United Kingdom

 

Favourited 71 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/09/2019

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family run dairy farm on the Isle of Mull, milking our own herd of 130 dairy cows and turning all of our milk into cheese. We are a busy place with lots going on, including a small pig enterprise where we produce pork for local outlets, we also have 4 self-catering holiday lets which are very busy through the summer months and an onsite farm shop and cafe which is open seasonally when the island is busier with tourists. Our cheese is produced to a high standard and we take pride in that the whole process, from start to finish, breeding our own animals, milking our own cows, making, maturing and processing of our cheese all happens on our farm here on Mull. Our cheese is sold mainly wholesale throughout the UK and ends up in many speciality cheese shops, delis and farm shops and on the menus of some top class restaurants. We have won many awards throughout the 25 years we have been making cheese and aim to continue producing to a high standard, maintaining our quality milk and happy animals.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Other than getting to come and spend some time living on our beautiful island we hope workaways will learn about cheese production and life on a working farm. You will get the opportunity to see how we have diversified, with our island location makes us different from many other dairy farms.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who is adaptable to a variety or roles and who is able to work on their own initiative to find jobs which need doing. We are a very hard working family and all get stuck into whatever needs doing and are looking for someone with the same work ethic. Mainly we are currently needing help with our holiday cottage changeovers on Saturdays and other related jobs including laundry and light maintenance. A little cleaning experience would be ideal here as we aim to keep our cottages nice and clean and tidy, but equally, just someone we can rely on that will give it a good go!

    We would also require this person to help out in the cheese processing when necessary with jobs such as labelling and packaging. Also depending on how busy our cafe is on a day to day basis we may need an extra hand in here now and again, mainly serving customers, helping with dishes etc. You never know, we may need help around the farm sometimes, packing sausages or milking!

    If there was anyone particularly interested in the cheese making side of things then we may be able to accommodate someone in this area of the business if they were looking for a job for at least a couple of months.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the accommodation available at the time it will either be a mobile home or small wooden chalet which are located round the back of the farm or a small flat next to the holiday cottages. Workaways would be expected to provide their own food and money would be given to purchase this. Lunch may be available from the cafe some days but this cannot be guaranteed on busy and closed days.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are about a mile outside Tobermory (the main town on Mull), a15 minute walk (down hill) to town and a 20 minute walk (up hill) back from town. There are local taxis available which cost about £3.50 from our farm to town. There are some bus routes on the island which you can catch to visit places such as Calgary beach. There are plenty of beautiful walks on Mull and lots of wildlife to see. The nearest town is Tobermory which has a couple of food/convenience shops, some cafes and restaurants and a couple of pubs.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 40 hours a week

Host ref number: 998939486422