Help with puppies, house work and gardening - Worcestershire, Herefordshire Borders, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 55 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    We are a middle aged couple with four grown up children who occasionally visit. Mark is a special needs schoolteacher, Ruth is a knitwear designer who has just finished Masters Degree in Creative Craft. We live in a beautiful part of England in a Traditional six bedroomed Black and White House. The garden has a stream running through it and a vegetable patch. Unfortunately the chickens were eaten by the fox...

    Last year we had a litter of puppies and we are hoping to do the same this year. We kept one of the pups and he is now 12 months old. Betty has visited her mate again and we are hoping that a new litter of pups will be born on 15th of September. UPDATE: Betty has been scanned and 12 pups are expected... it will be chaos!

    We would like to have some help with this for approximately 2 months from mid September to the end of November. (But would be happy to spit this - i.e one person from mid Sept to mid Oct and one from mid Oct to end November approx.) Duties would include looking after the puppies and/or housework. If there are 2 of you there is a patio to be finished and always gardening and maintenance.

    I wont be able to give you lifts to the bus stop (for the first few weeks) . It would be best if you are over 30 (with Driving Licence suitable for the UK) so that I can insure you on my car OR if you have your own car / bike.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They would learn about building, general gardening, building and decorating skills. They will live as part of the family and have the opportunity to practise English and visit local areas. CURRENTLY they would also learn about looking after new puppies.

  • Help


    We have a timber framed house on the Worcestershire, Herefordshire Borders. It has been an ongoing project for about 20 years. This year we would like to tidy up the garden, laying a patio and building a timber framed garage. We have two dogs and a cat. CURRENTLY we need help with puppies.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    The house is a 6 bedroom timber framed former farmhouse, set in half an acre in a small village. They would have an en suite double bedroom with TV and WiFI. (However there is no Mobile phone signal) We cook normal UK non vegetarian food, but would be able to provide vegetarian meals if necessary. The village has a pub and golf club but no shops or transport.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A limited bus service runs from the village 3 miles away but own transport would be better. There are many houses of interest, interesting villages and market towns, and we are nearby to Wales. The nearest large towns with access to trains for trips to London/Birmingham are Worcester and Hereford.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 998797643124