updated  

A calm, wild place near Rocha, Uruguay

  • Uruguay
  • Favourited 62 times
  • Last activity: 28/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Ok, here it goes:

    I live in the middle of nowhere by a river.

    I built two little houses so far and am focusing now on creating food gardens and another house, the roof is already done, foundation and mud walls are next.

    It is important to understand that this isn't a place for people who can't live without a certain level of luxury.

    Compost toilet.

    Internet is not reliable, was just off for days.
    Since it comes from a prepaid mobile card, the use is expensive and therefore restricted.

    To me this place is paradise, but if you are used to the luxuries of city life, it may just be a nightmare.

    Just making sure you don't come with false expectations :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Natural building, gardening.

    I can teach basic meditation techniques, but believe that there is not much to teach... just a lot to do.

  • Help

    Help

    The help that I need help with is mainly creating food gardens and building houses.

    Right now there is my little earth house and a tiny shed on the beautiful 7 HA property with a river for bathing and a stream to enjoy fresh clear water.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A wooden shed I lived in for quite a while before moving into my new house. Or the workshop which can be easily turned into a bedroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The place is about 30 minutes from the next city, Rocha, and about one hour from the coast.

    It's a 45 minute walk to get to the road, where buses pass about 4 times a day.

    I have a car and go to Rocha about once or twice a week.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    For just staying in the shed I'd expect 2 hours a day. Including food 4.

Host ref number: 998432913275

Feedback (3)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.3)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.7)





Family self-building their house on beautiful land in the mountains near Rocha, Uruguay
Help in a small farm, close to the ocean, Uruguay