Help us get our rural home together in Merritt, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 89 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family of four moved from Vancouver to Merritt in December 2013. What a change from city life to rural life! Our log cabin sits on 10 acres surrounded by crown land on one side and a cattle ranch on the others. We value the privacy but know that town is a mere 15 minutes drive away. Nestled in a scenic valley with a stupendous view, the trade off is cell phone coverage and internet service. Both are now working but not with metropolitan speed. Presently, we have 4 dogs and 1 horse. After six years, we learned a lot. The property was rarely used in the last couple of decades so we were slowly fixing it up - we knew that when we bought it.

    Walter passed away in September 2019. Callie got herself an apartment in town. Now Zach and I are here (plus his girlfriend).

    I am selling the home and property. Moving will be difficult - literally and figuratively!

    We need some time to process our loss and may need moving help in the spring 2020.

    Thank you all for understanding.

    Maria

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They would find out that, "Canadians really ARE that polite."

  • Help

    Help

    If you have some of the skills listed below and are interested in coming to Canada to spend time with our family please contact us.
    + In the spring, someone with gardening skills would be a great help with our large garden - weeding and general maintenance. (Some professional landscaping suggestions could really help the overall appearance of our property.)
    + We think we have enough wood for winter 2019.
    + Someone (notice the absence of gender! ;) with cooking and house cleaning skills would really be appreciated!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a guest bedroom with a separate bathroom downstairs.
    Water and power are not issues.
    Preference would be given to couples.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Merritt is a small logging, cattle and former mining town with a population of approx. 8,000.
    There is a tremendous sense of community that drew us to the area.
    We drive to town at least twice a week and there is no public transport. We enjoy a relaxed, slow lifestyle.

    The E-bus ride from Vancouver to Merritt usually takes about 4 hours and is very scenic.

    We are NON-vegetarian family.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We're flexible depending on weather conditions. max 25 hours a week















Host ref number: 998268719814