Come and help with our animal family in Woodville, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/12/2019

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a harness racing stable. There is 2 of us. We brought a old property 2 years ago and we are still setting it up. We have a naughty but lovely goat, 4 chickens, 2 cows, 2 dogs, 3 cats, 3 brood mares, 1 colt and 4 horses in training. Allen is a farrier/horse trainer. We are needing a bit of help for this endless working property, so we would love someone who loves animals to help us with fencing and painting. Chopping wood, help in the garden. General lifestyle block maintenance. We are getting married at the end of January here so we need help to make it look nice.You would live in a big farm house with us. In return along with food and accommodation you can roam the many bush tramps and river walks, The Tararua have to offer. Fun, relaxation and laid back style.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Enjoy a rural lifestyle, learning about harness racing horses. Great place to base yourself and explore the Tararua, and tramping around here. Meet us and love our fury family. A place to rest, enjoy home cooked meals and some fresh air before moving on.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    stable help, general maintenance on property, fencing, gardening, wood chopping, fence painting

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a large farm house. You will be staying in the house with us. It is a warm comfortable double bedroom. Shared bathroom. I do all the cooking. In exchange for a bit of help we will happily feed you home cooked meals and free accomodation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is not full time work days, maybe 4 hours a day for a few weeks. Then you can explore the windmills and tramp through the Manawatu gorge.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 996518193753