Love, do, breathe, be in the beautiful Slocan Valley, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 445 times
  • Last activity: 06/02/2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We are seeking the right individual(s) for a unique opportunity! If you are someone who is passionate or inspired to learn about and deepen in relationship with medicinal plants, herbal medicine making and participating in the process of capturing the healing properties of plants through the process of steam distillation (hydrosols and essential oils). then please reach out! We have a unique learning opportunity to shadow an "in the garden" herbalist who is growing medicinal plants from seed and utilizing their gifts to create magical medicines of many varieties. From basic salves, to more complex topical remedies; basic tinctures to more elaborate alchemical (flower essence, crystal elixir, phytochemical synergy) formulation; tea blends, aromatherapy. Everything is created with a focus on alchemical synthesis...addressing body/mind/spirit. Read below for more about our family and project and other activities that are happening here as well.

    We are a family of 4. Before our children were born, we also used workaway during our travels and had so many lovely and life enriching experiences. When our first child presented herself, we decided it was time to root in a little more deeply and co-create a space of love for her, and ourselves, to blossom through doing what it is within our hearts to express. We are Earth lovers, forest dwellers, seekers of silence and adventure, wanderers who are learning and loving the new experience of rooting in. Most of all, at this time in our life, we are parents who are choosing to engage with this role as intentionally as possible....which inevitably means stepping into our own purpose and finding the ways through which we can make our love visible; in our home and in the world. We like to tread as softly as possible on the Earth Mother and appreciate her and all living beings as sentient, creative consciousness.

    We see workaway primarily as a way to meet bright souls who are also seeking, learning and teaching conscious ways of being and engaging with this World. We like to share experiences and knowledge, and are just as open to receiving as giving.

    Keeping in mind the experiences that we gathered on our travels of being ourselves "workawayers", we aim to create a comfortable co-living, working and life enjoyment situation. We recognize that when a certain level of peace of mind and collaboration is created, the positive interaction can be incredibly different to just, lets say a weeded garden patch for a bed to sleep in. We deeply appreciate the cultural and skill exchange that happens through workaway. None the less, we have a lot of things going on that, when they are also your interest, will automatically lead to enjoyable exchange and relations. From the outside in, they are for example: construction, composting, improving soil fertility, permaculture and no dig gardening, tree planting, herb and vegetable gardening, wild harvesting, fruit gathering, fermentation, herbal/fruit wines, food preservation, holistic wellness, nutrition, movement, hatha yoga, cleansing, trauma release, vibrational healing, light therapy, chakra balancing, music as medicine, breath work, mindfully engaging with each day, meditation, cultivating compassion and self-love.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We feel that we have a lot to share in information and knowledge, as well as time and happiness. Every task brings different things with it, and the underlying drive for positive change, spreading of love and healing will, so we hope, inspire you as much as we will like to be inspired by you and your story.

    We live in an area - the Slocan Valley - where there are many, many projects aimed at promoting positive change and evolving awareness. You are welcome to explore other options for learning while you are here with us - perhaps visiting other farms/projects etc. You will inevitably meet many other special souls who are working hard to create a more harmonious way of being on Earth. It is not uncommon for people to come stay with us and end up staying for many months, or even moving to the area!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    The areas in which you help would depend on your skill set, interest and the current needs of our farm project. With many of the things we do, there are learning opportunities involved.

    Things that we may need help with:
    - building - finishing touches on our cabin, and also perhaps a sauna project, general maintenance.
    - playing with fun and vibrant 7 year old and 3 year old
    - food creation
    - harvesting and processing herbs
    -herbal medicine making
    - distilling essential oils and hydrosols
    -general maintenance/daily living tasks
    - fermentation
    -wine making with fruits
    - gathering firewood
    - permaculture inspired gardening - seeding, transplanting, harvest,weeding,watering
    - no dig gardening
    - growing and caring for a large variety of medicinal plants
    -growing very unique medicinal plants not generally found in our area or in Canada.
    - seed collection and putting the gardens to sleep for winter
    - fruit harvest and preservation
    -preservation of anything we can harvest/gather!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You will have a space to yourselves where you can rest or create or do what it is you need to do for you. This space is in a prospectors tent or a small converted school bus or a camper with kitchenette.

    The canvas tent suites a single, couple or a small family. It is suited like a little apartment. It has a woodstove to keep warm on chilly nights ( can also be used for cooking on), bed, small dresser, couch, and electricity.

    The bus has a bed and seats and small cupboards. It's not uber fancy, but everyone who has stayed in there so far have been happy with this accommodation; and we ourselves lived and traveled in it for a few months when our daughter was a babe.

    The camper is a pop up camper and will be available when not in use to host our family or for our summer adventures. It has 2 comfortable beds, a kitchen area and a table with benches.

    There is an extra kitchen space for our guests. This kitchen space will also be a hang out zone and stays nice and cool in the summer. It is covered, has a door and a wood stove in it for staying cozy during the cooler months.

    There are a few options for bathing - the outdoor bathtub with a fire powered hot water tank is the preferred place for our guests to bath, but not possible during fire or mosquito season. At this time, we can arrange bathing in our land mates home or in our cabin. Also, we live in the land of abundant fresh water and recommend a trip to one of the many local beaches/entrance points to the river for a real invigorating clean. There are a couple access points for swimming within walking distance. And even more within a short bike ride.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in an extraordinarily beautiful area! Mountains, lakes, rivers, waterfalls, endless forest. There are many hikings trails all around us, beaches to swim at, waterfalls to wonder by, life of all kinds to be experienced and seen.

    There are sometimes bikes available for adventuring.

    The town of Winlaw is less than 3 km away - an easy walk or bike.

    There are affordable buses running to and from Nelson and the bus stop is nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is a wifi connection. However, the space to access the connection is outside. on a shady deck with picnic tables or on a grassy hill. So, it is weather dependent. At times, the signal is strong enough to reach the shared common space/kitchen or the bus and camper living spaces.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    lots of space!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    It really depends on your pet....we can talk about it and see if it might be a fit.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    approx 25 hours/week. flexible with how this is divided, we can reach a mutually agreed upon arrangement in person

Host ref number: 995632827248

Feedback (4)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help this older gentleman and experience the beauty of nature in this area, Marmora, Ontario, Canada
Atlantic beach-front micro farm in Nova Scotia, Canada