Help our family and enjoy arty music events in England, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 155 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I am lucky enough to live for most of the year very simply with my partner and my mum in Spain, but we return to UK in the summer to enjoy and contribute to several independent events, and pretty much become travellers ourselves. We go to all sorts of things, from juggling to handpan meets... and everything in between! These events are small independent and niche. We never go to big, stressful things, we like to be part of a party and contribute to the end result.

    Most of the time we are in a field camping out or travelling around, but we have a couple of family houses where we can rest, wash clothes and chill for a few days. One is in Gloucestershire and one is in Hampshire, and sometimes we might just camping somewhere, preferably near the sea!

    We like to help with the set up, make performance space, make food, contribute to arty stuff and make a great venue, you would be surprised at what a lot goes on to make it happen!

    We go to Suffolk, Dyffed in West Wales, Berkshire, Gloucestershire, Devon, the mountains of Powys in Mid Wales, Shropshire, Hampshire and finally Oxfordshire. All these places are on private farm land and completely tranquil.

    You will get full transport, travelling with us, and a tent to yourself and all a bed and covers and pillow, 3 nice meals and all the company that you that you will need to have a nice time, in exchange for a hand with a multi tasking situation....... but remember it's the Brilliant British Weather, so bring footwear that will stay dry, and some sort of waterproof coat. Then you will enjoy it so much more! The facilities are the same as camping, so don't expect a palace, but do expect a party! If you like to play an instrument or juggle or have an arty talent that you would like to explore, maybe you can with us!

    Of course, if you like us and want to come to our house in Spain as well, you are more than welcome, that is a bit of a project in itself, and we can talk to you one to one about that...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange, we will be in some outstanding areas of natural beauty, and we will witness artistic and musical performances which will be unusual because they will be "not the normal thing" the settings are deep in the country-side, and in some cases in the most beautiful and tranquil areas, Sure we make some noise, but that is not all we do. We can pass by some places and stop for picnic or shopping, if we see something that looks like it might be fun why not stop? In fact you can help with that when we plan itineraries.

    Obviously we can help with your understanding of England and Wales, both countries are very interesting historically and culturally too. The landscape and architecture tells a story if you look and listen, especially to my Mum, she will talk for ever about it! Beware!

    Most of all you can consider an alternative lifestyle, consider why people decide to live outside the confines of big business and decide to think for themselves. you will meet many different people who have many different ideas of what they want form life, and they will challenge you.

    You can learn to live in a group and work in part of a team, that isn't always as easy as it sounds! YOU may be PERFECT... but the rest of us maybe are not! So tolerance and and love for imperfect people is a big thing to take into your heart, and lets all support each other in our day!

  • Help

    Help

    Ok! Well I had a bit of trouble filling in the tick box requirements for skills! so here is why I marked each one:

    Gardening!
    Well when we stop off at one or another house, we generally have to do a bit of garden maintenance, everything grows very fast in the summer, and we try to prevent nature from completely taking over so that we have a bit of space outdoors to enjoy, but this is not the focus of this offer!

    Art Project!
    if you enjoy painting big pictures or decorations on wall hangings, or enjoy making installations then you could find an outlet. Please though, try not to be so spontaneous that you haven't planned what materials you need, or how your piece will be transported, We try to up-cycle, re-purpose or use materials from nature like withies.
    If you like to perform, maybe you could, but only if you like to and are confident.

    Building!
    Yes! but tents, and arty installations, and field kitchen, and sometimes screens and fence structures and various pretty things...

    Cooking and shopping!
    yes lots of that, and if you enjoy eating this is a thing you can pitch right into. We make food that is ok whatever your dietary habits, I think, but we ourselves don't like to support the meat trade in our personal consumption. But we are all different. If you have a simple to cook recipe you want to share then dive in! we are always delighted to learn, nothing to complicated though, remember, you are in the field and complex things are best left for complex environments.... HOWEVER... we do bake cakes! So you might enjoy that.

    Help with Eco project!
    maybe life isn't perfect, but being kind to nature, tidy with your horrible waste is a good start. We try to help make good clear recycling options, and encourage thoughtful use of plastic. We can't preach too much because we travel and so do you, and therefore we are the biggest sinners of all. this is a strong theme of conversations with guests and something that I feel eventually we will have to address, a lifestyle of moving around by the help of fossil fuels is unsustainable. We don't have an excuse but we are very clear that what we do, and you too, is probably a terrible thing. We can nibble around the edges making small changes, but in the end we have to examine our lives. But this year we are going to try to see what mindful options come out of the conversations.... and what can inform our activities next year ...

    Other!
    Come on! there is always "other"!!! just being joyful, mindful and in the moment, being a good listener, findng lost things, sorting out a route! all very helpful. Thank you in advance!

    General Maintenance!
    Yes please! If something breaks, and you know how to fix it, please help, it's always better with 2 or 3 brains to figure out a problem.

    Help in the House!
    for that read "help in the tent"!!!! keeping things tidy, and nice is a big art in the outdoors. so much difference can be made by just being thoughtful, and taking turns on generally being a responsible adult.... washing up, empty the bin, sweep the plastic floor, pick up anything dropped, filling clean water and emptying dirty water.... a tidy environment is so nice! Most of all keep yourself and your tent nice and tidy and as dry as you can.

    Help with Language!
    We are still learning Spanish but slowly in my Mum's case, can you help her? English is spoken all the time so if you want we can do a language exchange.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some Spanish, mum speaks some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Well, I can't promise you any more than a tent to yourself, with a mattress and bedding, somewhere to go to the loo and somewhere to wash yourself, a shower or a bucket shower... a visit to a laundrette now and then, plenty of food, but please try to fit in with our meal times which are not set in stone, and don't try to make yourself little in between meals, it is a bit thoughtless and gets in everyone's way. Everyone helps and puts in their shift with making food... even at the houses, sometimes the guests will camp in the garden..

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off you are free to do your own tourism if you want, or to undertake some arty stuff, or just chill out. We can lend a car if you can drive on the left are over 25 and have a European licence.

    I work very closely with Clare, so she will answer for me quite often as she does a lot of the admin

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    we try to organise 5hr shifts, some days there isn't any thing to do to help, some days there is a need for some extra help. in the end we will accomodate your fun and needs

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 995413292222