Finalise renovation in Beaujolais winefields with a Dutch / Belgian globetrotting family in France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 219 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a Dutch woman of 37 and Belgian man aged 39 that have been travelling all over the world extensively and fell in love with the French Beaujolais area.
    The boys are 3 and 5.
    We settled in the hills close to a small village (Saint-Didier-Sur-Beaujeu), 60 km away from Lyon. After a lot of hard work with a lot of help from great WorkAways, the place is now a very comfortable haven of peace.
    We further improve the adjacent buildings, slowly transforming it all into a good spot for happy travelers.
    1 gite and 1 studio are rented out sometimes, so there are always people from different backgrounds and nationalities coming and going. We are loving it and hope you will too!

    Bikes are at your disposal, as could be a car if you request that.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are very openminded and love 2-way exchange of cultures. We have been living in France for 10 years now and like to help you discover why we love the country, its people and its culture!

    We can help with the French language (or Dutch, English, Spanish or German if you prefer).
    We have both lived, studied and worked in different parts of the world (Mali, Spain, Belgium, Holland & France) and took 2 different sabbatical years (gap years) to travel through South-America and Africa. We are very flexible, know what travellers want and enjoy the exchange with people from all around.

    The area is perfect to discover all about the French wines. The property is surrounded by vineyards as is the whole region.

    Part of the property was renovated for gite, but is now inhabitted by a Dutch retired couple. The man is an old constructor and the lady is an artist who is a true magician in decoration, relooking furniture etc. They don't speak much French, but love to share there knowledge and exchange.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a happy, outgoing family of 4 and appreciate your presence and help in renovating an old wine production site into a studio and design/maintain the outdoors.

    Activities will consist of finalizing some domestic electricity, some basic plumbing to add a sink, create a second shower, drywalling, restore a natural stone wall to its authentic glory, painting of walls and ceiling, ... We are therefore looking for people preferably with previous experience in building/renovation or genuinly handy people who learn quickly and can be relatively autonomous.

    Ruben is around very often to help around, assist or give instructions/teach if necessary.

    Apart from the studio described above, there are plenty of projects laying around for anyone with DIY-skills or keen on gardening.
    There will be a wide variety of projects to pick whatever suits you best:

    Other projects are an outdoor shower, a shed for animals, use your creativity to make outdoor playing installations for the boys and so much more!


    We would expect you to help 4 to 5 hours a day and 5 days in the week and will happily show you around on the other days or keep you informed on where you will find whatever it is you are looking for.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You get your private bedroom in the house with your own bathroom. The rest of the house is shared with the family.

    Plenty of space for those of you who want to park a van to camp close to the little river and access one of the bathrooms.
    Another spot has access to drinking water and electricity.

    You always have access to a full bathroom and fully equiped kitchen with high-end appliances in the house if you wish.

    We provide everything for you to make your own breakfast during the week and will happilly prepare breakfast to take it together in weekends if you like.
    Lunch would need to be prepared for your own as well during the week.
    For dinner, we like to prepare simple and healthy meals. Both French cuisine as world food. We like variety.

    The garden needs a finishing touch, but is already great for relaxing and playing. There are 2 terraces (sun and shadow), a 'terrain de pétanque' and a removable pool (3,5m diameter) for the sunny days. Charge your batteries in the hamac or on the comfortable sunbeds.

    The area is perfect to discover all about the French wines. The property is surrounded by vineyards as is the whole region.
    The hills are perfect for walking, running and cycling.

    1 electric bike and several regular bicycles are available for your use.

    If necessary we can arrange use of 1 car for you or a motorcycle if you have the licence and can handle 900cc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Very decent and stable WiFi. Seperated over 2 bandwidths not to be disturbed by others streaming their series or music

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Good parking spot by a little creek at about 50meters from the house. Another spot only accessible by dirtroad only but has a cold drinking water connection as well as electricity. Great calm spot between vineyards and bushes with the soothing sound of the creek below.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Neighbours have a Belgian shepherd that runs around freely. We also have 2 cats. Dogs are allowed on the property, but not in the house.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)















Host ref number: 994744835639