Live with our family and help with gardening and decorating in beautiful Normandy France

Country

France

Favourited 225 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    26  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    81

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English family (Olek is of French and Polish heritage and speaks French fluently) with two children (17 and 16yrs) and two friendly dogs living in a village in Higher Normandy, classed as one of the most beautiful villages France. We have just finished renovating our kitchen with the help of two lovely workawayers.

    Our priority for September is that we need to clear out some rooms that have been used as a dumping ground and to organise Olek's workshop so that he has somewhere to paint his pictures indoors. There are some small decorating projects and our bathroom also needs renovating but that is just one of a long list of larger projects.

    We have a large garden and a slightly overgrown vegetable plot so help with weeding and general tidying will be a weekly chore. We can use help in lots of different areas for a few hours a day to assist our busy and sociable lifestyle.

    We usually sit down for a cooked evening meals at the table outside during the summer, (sometimes on the sofa in front of TV). Lunch is usually sandwich, soup or salad. We are a lively family – lots of laughs, arguments quickly resolved always something going on – friends stop by, phone rings often for bookings for our bed and breakfast and holiday home or french and english speaking friends just for a chat. Since Covid19 restrictions have been lifted, we currently have someone with us on a workaway who is soon going to leave and we are now keen to get an extra pair of hands as Shirley works from home for a UK business in HR all day and Olek needs assistance with all of the tasks mentioned above.

    Both of our dogs are lively and loving, both are cheeky monkeys and try stealing food and anything that is lying around when they are bored and want to play. We’re non smokers (except for our daughter), but smoking outside is ok. You’ll have freedom of the fridge and will be treated as part of the family but we will respect your privacy and you are free to do your own thing in your spare time.

    Our area of France is beautiful steeped in history dating back to the middle ages. We will be happy to show you around the Normandy countryside and Olek can share his insight into the local historic world war sites in the area.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are English speaking at home and most of us are fluent in French too. We live in a beautiful village and are happy to exchange food and living ideas as well as showing you around our beautiful countryside and places of interest such as Rouen and Paris.

  • Help

    Help

    We can accommodate a couple to stay in a double room with a double bed or a single person will be equally welcome. Our first priority is installing our kitchen, repainting outside and inside the house, plumbing, carpentry skills can all be utilised. We also need to weed and maintain our garden and vegetable plot.

    We can accommodate people for a minimum of 2 weeks but would prefer longer.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    1 double bedroom where we live with access to kitchen, bathroom and garden. French and English Television.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our village is surrounded by France's largest Beechwood forest. We live in an area rich in history (William the Conqueror and his son, Richard the Lionheart and many Kings of France lived or passed through our village). Not far from the cities of Rouen (45 minutes drive) and Paris (1.15 minutes drive or accessible by train). The gardens of Giverney are 50 minutes drive away and there is a local abbey, chateau and gardens nearby to visit along with numerous walks through the forest which you can do without having to drive anywhere first. Our village is a small but active one, with bars, restaurants and hotels that are especially busy at the weekends or during high season.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space for a campervan on the street outside our house but not for one that takes up more space than a large car as parking is limited.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)



















Host ref number: 658834274424