Come experience an Alaskan lifestyle near Denali National Park, AK USA

Country

United States

Favourited 110 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three with a small, non-profit private ranch here in Healy, AK just north of Denali National Park. Our property has views of the mountains and river and is in a secluded heavily wooded area where it’s not uncommon to see various wildlife. We have Alpacas, Llamas, Chickens, Pigs, Quail, Geese, Ducks, and Dogs. We raise animals for their fiber, as well as for food, all for our own personal use. We are working on expanding our pastures on our property as well as our fence line. We need help doing this and also building onto existing animal shelters.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would like to teach new people how to build using various tools, animal training and husbandry, gardening and how to enjoy the outdoors in Alaska. We live a very Alaskan lifestyle and eat moose, caribou, blacktail deer, salmon, and halibut. We also have fresh eggs daily from our chicken and quail flocks. We process all of our own meat, so that can also be taught if a workawayer is interested. We also do a bit of taxidermy, so if you are interested in learning that then we would be happy to show you.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with some building projects, painting, maintenance, cleaning animal pens, winter preparation/snow removal, expanding fencing, hauling feed and brush, animal care, digging ditches, cutting trees/chopping wood and gardening.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cabin that workawayers can stay in that has a washer and dryer, sink, TV and outhouse. They will be able to shower in the main house which is close to the cabin. We also have internet. We will provide some food, such as lunch/dinner type foods but anything that you may need for a special diet will have to be purchased. We expect help with cooking and cleaning up after meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are a lot of hiking trails and things to explore here and in Denali. There are also several lakes in the area you can fish, provided you purchase a license (about $25/day). You can take the bus into the park and camp out or just take a day trip. We can also try to find transportation to Fairbanks to sightsee there as well. If you come in the winter or fall, you can see the northern lights from the house.

    We are a laid back family that likes to enjoy time outside but also work very hard to keep things running smoothly and improve our ranch. We expect that workawayers respect our family and the environment around us. We enjoy hunting and fishing, so if you are against those things then we would not be a good fit for you.

    If you would like to message us about staying here we ask that you answer a few questions about yourself. All questions are just for our knowledge so we can give you the best workaway experience as possible. No experience is necessary for this workaway, just the willingness to learn!

    Have you worked with animals before, if so, what kind?

    Are you willing to get your hands dirty and do physical labor?

    What are some things from our profile you’d specifically like to participate in? (We will try to find projects for you related to them)

    What do you want to experience while you are here in Alaska that we could help you with?

    If you fly into Fairbanks we can pick you up, and if you fly into Anchorage you will have to take the bus which is about $90. That you will have to provide yourself.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 993985971295