Help with permaculture farm near Oslo, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 494 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    74.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a permaculture farm at Nesodden, a peninsula close to Oslo. Ekebo is the name of our place, and means living under the oaks. We have chickens, beehives, goats, a cat and a rabbit and a forest with old oak trees, a beautiful garden and a large vegetable-garden.

    My name is Anne Gro, I am 54 years old. I have a deep interest in permaculture and sustainable living. My passion is food and I try to cultivate as many edible plants as possible in our climate. My official profession and my 9 to 5 job, is as a psychologist.

    Summer 2018 has been an amazing summer with a lot of good help from workawayers. I am so grateful. The whole summer was blessed with good weather, we could eat all the meals outside, swim in the Oslo fjord every day and work easily in the garden. Winter 2019 has been busy. With fantastic help from a few workawayers, we have refurbished the whole house. Thank you Mark, Armando and Caytie!

    Now the spring and summer is coming up, and a lot of outdoor tasks is waiting for us. Are you a couple who want to stay for a while - you are more than welcome to send me a mail.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We try do be as self sufficient as possible, eat our own veggies, eggs and fresh fish.

  • Help

    Help

    The balance in everyday work is to maintain what we have and step by step develop new projects.

    For the summer 2019 a project will be to start building a food forest. Taking care of the garden. Carpentry. Painting outdoor.

    We need volunteers that would like to learn and to help to pick berries and making jam (July, August) and with beekeeping and honey harvesting (September).

    In the garden:
    Spring: Planting seeds and plants, weeding
    Summer: Weeding, watering and harvesting
    Autumn: Harvesting, raking leaf and collecting materials for mulch, compost and lasagna beds, making new raised beds.
    All seasons: maintenance of the cultivated areas – weeding and mulching, cutting and raking grass, watering when necessary.

    We are looking for workawayers that are highly motivated and interested in volunteering at our farm. We prefer long-term volunteers with a minimum of 3-4 weeks.

    We would like to have a 1 week trial, then discuss if both parts are happy.

    If you would like to live with us it is important that you have some cooking skills and can participate in making the daily meals.

    What you can expect workawaying on our farm:
    - 5 hours of help per day, 5 days a week.
    - we start and end the working day together, usually at 9 in the morning. It is more social and effective when we work together
    - 3 meals per day - Breakfast, lunch and dinner (if you know you need more than this you provide it yourself)
    - everybody is helping with the daily chores like, setting the table, helping with the food, cleaning of the table and making the dishes after eating, emptying the dishwasher, help keeping the place clean and tidy. This is a part of daily community life and is not counted as a part of the 5 hours of help per day.
    - making food might be one of the tasks for the day, when we are a large group:-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, english and italian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have light, extra shared bedrooms and a living room for volunteers! Shared bathrooms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live very close to "Nesoddparken" a cultural centre with many artistic activities all round the year, with a cafè every sunday. The surroundings at Nesodden are beautiful, close to the sea with nice places for swimming. From our home it is 3 minutes walk to the bus, that is connected with the boat to Oslo. It takes 50 minutes to reach the center of Oslo. You can borrow a bike and explore the peninsula. There are many places where you can go riding on horses. You can borrow a tent and stay for a night or two at the beach or in the woods. By our fjord you can go fishing and picking fresh mussels.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Fishing in the moonlight.
Workaway is hard work; painting the hall inside.
Cleaning the house is sometimes the best help you can get!
Having a good time in the light summernight.
Building fences round the herb-garden.
Margit, Sophia and Pablo.
Eating outside is a good way to have every meal, don't you think?
Summer 2018 was a dream, warm and sunni. Prepping food outside is pure happiness.
Beehives.
We make huge permacultur hügelbed for growing vegetables.
Free range ecological chickens.














Host ref number: 991827919892