Help at a non-profit campsite located almost on the Oslofjord, Norway




Favourited 1251 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    Due to corona virus borders to Norway are closed for some countries and open for others, most countries demands quarantine. So extra planning is needed to give time and space for that. As it looks right now - we have an opening for one person/couple/friends from the beginning of the year.
    It's tricky and difficult times for many places and people - we wish all a happy new year, dreaming of a more peaceful and healthy 2021:)

    Bookings have started for 2021 and we need help. Because of corona and quarantines we prioritise those who are interested in longer stays. So, if you plan to travel next year= 2021 and is looking for a place with lots of different days and tasks - get in touch:)
    We focus on together-apart, keeping safe and healthy for all guests and helpers.
    Bear in mind that the winter months are slow and meditative, we don't have many volunteers at the same time, if you're looking for lots of people and company we recommend stays from April on.

    STAY WELL - be careful and remember an extra sms and phone call to your loved ones!

    The campsite has a beautiful location by the Oslo fjord, approximately 1 hour on the bus from Oslo. The site is owned by the Norwegian YMCA-YWCA.

    Being part of a non profit NGO I'm sorry to say there is no opportunities to give any payment.

    It's about 13 acres large and has 500 meters shoreline, lots of fruit trees and other vegetation and a soccer field. It was originally a residence for a wealthy businessman from Oslo in 1901 and was founded as a campsite in 1941/42.

    The help varies with the seasons and will consist of everything from gardening, painting indoors and outdoors, carpentry, tidying, organising, cleaning, generally maintenance and most important cooking for camps when they request food:-)

    Apart from the regular tasks; cleaning (I must admit extra cleaning with corona), cooking and gardening -our wood buildings desperate needs some care with house wash and paint (if time and weather allows), so are u happy on ladders and painting - don't hesitate:-)
    We are always looking for a carpenter that can do the job we don't know how to. There are lots of different buildings that need different care.

    Asker kommune, where the camp is located, are building all their plans on the UN sustainability goals.
    We have picked 5 where we believe we can follow up with small steps "everybody can do something". We host camps for all communities, strive for the best experience of those who stay with us, help to build friendship across borders, waste management and regular beach clean and more.

    The work is partly independent (or with other helpers) off season and you make your own day. We usually make a list of work to be done, and you are sometimes free to pick out your preferences.
    In season there's mainly a schedule and routines to follow, though still with plenty of time to explore the nature around or visit Oslo.

    We've been part of a program to reduce food waste, we hope that our volunteers will be aware in their stay. Off course there will be info when arriving:-)

    You will sleep in a cabin or a caravan.

    We have wi-fi for volunteers to use.
    You are also welcome to use our bicycles, boats, canoe and kayaks to check out our beautiful surroundings. A pair of old cross country skis for the winter experience, always a fun challenge for beginners:-)
    You are expected to keep all common areas clean and tidy to make the place look nice for our guests.

    We need you to take initiative, be self- propelled, have the basic skills and understanding of practical work, take pride in the work that you do, and of course- friendly:-)

    We are privileged to have many people who'd like to stay with us, long-term is preferred.

    We're looking forward to hearing from you!

    Best regards,

    Marianna and family
    2 dogs, 1 cat, 2 goats, 2 pigs in summer and 4 hens :-)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Small community by the Oslofjord with beautiful surroundings, both forest and sea.

    Improving English as that is the common language for all volunteers:-)

  • Help


    We need people that can work independently as well as together with other helpers and are flexible in the hours of volunteering. Sometimes the task has to be done "immediately":-)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Greek: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Tiny, cozy cabins or rooms with more or less beds only. Sharing showers and toilet with other volunteers and visitors. Seperate toilet and shower for volunteers only in our totally renovated kitchen (2015) .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's wifi available. Bicycles to borrow.

    We expect and need our volunteers to be clean and tidy. Most areas are common for guests and volunteers so it has to be presentable at all times:-)

    The public transport to Oslo is by bus and not very often, visits to Oslo work best planned.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Most sizes can be parked, but the road getting here can be tricky for the less experienced driver:-)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25hrs per week for food and accomodation

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)

Host ref number: 458191794356