updated  

Help with house and garden projects in Skotterud, Norway

  • Favourited 70 times
  • Last activity: 24 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello :)

    I’m hosting for two or three weeks in August, feel free to send me a mail.

    *******

    - I host females or a couple including at least one female
    - Periode 14 days-ish
    - Non smoking ones
    - Ca. 25 hours pr. week, flexitime, and I would say you mostly make your own schedule as long as you put in the expected hours during your stay

    **********************

    I am Nina, a 53 years old woman living on a small farm, about 100 km northeast of Oslo, really close to the Swedish border. I have two adult children, but they have both moved out, so I’m what you probably would call an empty nester.

    I live on a smallholding in the countryside, inherited from my great grandparents. I left the farming part to my neighbour who grows grass for his sheep on my land. However, I do quite a bit of gardening - and with a big house and a barn - there is always something to clean, fix or paint.

    I think family, friends and colleagues would describe me as easygoing, open minded, as an easily adapting person and that I have a stable good mood. I like to socialize and meet new people, but I also cherish alone time.

    Of course, during my five decades I’ve had my share of struggle and sorrows, and I suppose that's why I've come to the conclusion that the best way of living my life is to strive to live every day with focus on being present, grateful and positive. And - "It's nice to be important, but it is more important to be nice!". This saying emphasizes the essence of my role as a mother and my profession as an educator - and of course as a hostess for workawayers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live in the countryside so I can tell you about places to go hiking, go for a swim or maybe even join you. I have a bicycle you can borrow.

  • Help

    Help

    I need help for I would say easy tasks such as general house tasks, painting buildings outdoors, some other painting projects indoor and gardening. Cooking would also be highly appreciated. I cook, but i really don't enjoy it.

  • Languages spoken

    Norwegian bokmål: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have two extra bedrooms in the house, both with double beds (It’s the rooms of my children who have moved out). Good wifi connection. One of the rooms is a bit more spaceous than the other, but they are both nice rooms. Heated floors in the winter. (Our farm house was built in 2004, so it’s quite new).

    I also have a very cute bedroom out in the barn if one likes to sleep "ourdoors, but indoors" (spring/summer)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I actually startet up as a workawayer myself, and I've done three such experiences myself by now, lambing season in a farm in Lofoten/Norway 2021, as a housekeeper in Gotland/Sweden 2021- both during the pandemic - and as a housekeeper and dogwalker Sicily/Italy 2023.

    The ideal way to stay in my place is by bringing your own car/campervan AS I LIVE VERY RURAL 😊. But, I will be happy to give you a ride and pick you up at the bus stop. I can assist you with finding suitable transport if needed

    Available transport:
    - trains from Oslo (from Oslo airport Gardermoen via Lillestrøm) to Kongsvinger (approx. 1,5 hours)
    - busses from Kongsvinger to Skotterud (approx. 0,5 hours)
    - it´s also possible to arrive from the Swedish side,
    then you should end up in a small town called Charlottenberg (train station)

    My place has nice possibilities going hiking in the woods during all seasons.

    Late spring, summer time and early fall I have a nice garden, with furniture to relax in and even a hammock. Actually I’ve got several hammocks. I have two more «sporty» versions as well, meant for hiking and for sleeping outside in nature if wanted (I have some hiking equipment if you need to borrow). For the autumn/winter/spring time I have a place for bonfires outside.

    As I guess you’ve probably understood by now, my place is not the place to come to if you want to go clubbing/partying 😆. It’s really all about enjoying the quiet life in the countryside.

    I also have a rather well equipped homegym if you are into strenght training/yoga. - Or you can join me to the local gym (by the way, it cost 645 nkr for a single month). I also have a walking pad and an exercise bike indoors.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Digital nomads are happy to come and stay. I have a fiber wifi connection, and I even have an office one could use.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Most certainly! I have a lot of outdoor space!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20-25 hours a week, flexitime

Host ref number: 637922454914

Feedback (1)



Feedback





Help with animals above the arctic circle, Norway
Help in the garden in Fredrikstad, Norway