An exciting opportunity to help out on a family-run farm within the Loch Lomond National park

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 427 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    29  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there, thanks for your interest in volunteering with us. My wife and I have a 5 acre smallholding which has llamas, alpaca, sheep and where we host weddings. This is an opportunity for a non-smoking couple (or two friends) to help us out domestically with some gardening and childcare for our young boy, while we run the business.

    Up until January 2020 we operated solely as a restaurant but have changed the direction of our business so as to promote a better quality of life. Although we still require our Workawayers to be hard working and to have a positive attitude we hope that from now on the tasks will be more varied and we are excited to see what skills and fresh ideas you can bring.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We no longer live at the farm but visit 2-3 times a week to do maintenance and conduct weddings and viewings. When we do so we will often ask you to join us in some tasks which will give you the opportunity to practice your English, which will definitely improve over time. During these times we may all sit down together for a lunch or breakfast where we can take the time to really get to know each other - we love to learn about other countries and cultures as much as we like to tell people about our own. We are very proud and knowledgeable of Scotland and Loch Lomond in particular and are very happy to encourage and advise you on how best to explore and enjoy the area.

    The hours you help will be flexible and dependent upon when you will be needed. As such you will also have a great deal of free time to get to know the area and beyond. If there is a longer trip you would like to take then we will certainly do our best to give you that time off to go off and explore Scotland further afield.

  • Help

    Help

    We require an enthusiastic couple (or two friends) to come along and give us a hand. There will be a variety of tasks depending on your skills and our needs e.g. collecting wood, gardening, maintenance and some cleaning. We also have a small baby, born in October 2017, so if you have some experience with little ones then that will be useful too.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a bedroom with a shared bathroom and toilet. There are two single beds in this room which can be pulled together if you are together. All food is provided with cooking facilities to prepare meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our Farm is located within the Loch Lomond National park. In such an area of outstanding natural beauty there is much to do for the outdoor-loving and adventurous of spirit (fishing, swimming, kayaking, hill walking and mountaineering, to name but a few). The Farm is 4 miles from Helensburgh where railway links will connect you with the rest of the country. Glasgow is only 40 minutes away and to the North, there is of course the Highlands of Scotland. There is a regular bus service that passes nearby, however, to allow our volunteers greater freedom, we shall provide cycle bikes (there is a cycle path right outside the farm) which will enable you easy access to the railway station, Loch Lomond (1 mile away) and beyond.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



















Host ref number: 987536869642