Help on a christmas tree farm near Cobourg, Ontario, Canada




Favourited 155 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment


  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We live on a family run Christmas tree farm that has been operating for three generations. In addition to the Christmas trees, we grow a large, natural vegetable garden and raise a few farm animals on our 80 acre property. Our farm is in a scenic rural area, but only 10 km from the town of Cobourg and its beautiful beach on Lake Ontario. We are just over an hour drive from Toronto.
    We enjoy nature and try to grow our trees and gardens as naturally as possible. Our family enjoys nutritious home cooked meals every day, often prepared with our own eggs, and garden produce.
    We have a friendly, ball chasing dog, and in our barnyard a pony, miniature donkey,a couple of sheep, a couple of dwarf goats, and chickens.
    Our two children are young adults and live at home part time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will gain a good understanding of agriculture in Ontario, and where our food comes from. They will learn about making a living off a small farm, how to grow and prepare healthy food and how to become more self sustaining.

    As a part of our family, travellers will obtain a good sample of our local culture through interaction with family and friends and any local events we attend.

    Anyone interested in small planes will find Bob’s aviation hobby to be very enlightening.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help


    During the months of August, September and October we need additional assistance on our farm, as our family will be busy working in the grove.

    Animal care and feeding, stall cleaning and egg collecting make up part of the daily routine. Gardens need constant weeding and tending and there are always fruits and vegetables to harvest. Visitors should contribute to the routine cooking and cleaning of the home.

    Since growing and cooking healthy delicious food is a big part of our life, we also expect assistance in the kitchen. We usually encourage visitors to share some of their favourite meals with us.

    There may also be fence building and possibly small building construction. Any skills in these areas would be an asset, but are not required.

    Visitors must enjoy working outdoors in hot, sunny and humid weather for several hours a day.

    It is advisable to have light, long sleeved shirts and pants, boots and a hat to provide protection from weeds, sun and insects while working.

    Travellers who would be interested in trimming trees, and have a valid work permit, may be able to obtain a paid position working in our grove.

    On our farm helpers will learn about natural gardening, animal care, and the many different varieties of trees that we grow.

    Our tree grove provides a natural habitat for many birds and wild animals, that one may see while visiting.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Visitors will stay in our renovated, century old farmhouse with our family. For visitors, there is one private bedroom with a double bed and a shared bathroom. The accommodation would be suitable for an individual or a couple. We enjoy dining together for three meals a day. We will provide food for wholesome nutritious meals and do not tend to snack between meals. Assistance during meal preparation and clean up is expected.
    We are a non smoking family and would prefer non smoking visitors. We are accepting of moderate consumption of alcohol, but will not tolerate excessive drinking or any recreational drugs.
    Laundry facilities are available at the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Travellers may borrow our well used bicycles to explore the area. You would be welcome to accompany us as we drive to local towns to do errands. That would allow travellers some time to take in the tourist scene. We would also be willing to arrange to pick up and drop off visitors from bus and train stations if other excursions are planned.

    Most of our previous international visitors who have helped us on the farm, have returned to the farm for additional visits and taken the opportunity to join us in a different season of work.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 986599245448