Help at a Horse Racing Yard Munster, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 251 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Looking for someone in the yard - experienced riders would be great but yard help good. We live in South East Ireland. You will learn a lot about Irish horse Racing and living in rural Ireland. We are looking for someone who loves working with horses - race horses - only riding if very capable and doing all that needs to be done in a racing yard. If you don't mind cleaning stables and feeding horses you will enjoy this yard. If you can tack up a horse that would be helpful but not essential. There is also 6 dogs. There is always work to be done inside and outside the house. There is a local bus from the nearby village that will take you to the nearest towns. The main requirements would be to help in the yard with cleaning out stables, feeding horses and general work in the yard. Usually helping on saturday and sunday morning and evening and a few hours some other days. You will have your own room in a shared house with all food provided. You will either cook yourself or eat with the family. The area is very beautiful and you can walk or cycle to the nearby lake ( and swim there in summer time). There is other people working in the yard and sometimes 1 or 2 workaways. If you can drive you may have the use of a car at times. We love meeting people from different countries and cultures and you will learn a lot living and helping here. As we can take 2 or 3 workaways it is also great to learn from each other about different cultures and lifestyles. We look forward to meeting plenty of different nationalities over the coming months.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Fabulous rural location. You will be working mostly with local people of all ages involved in horses and racing. You will eat with the family when they are home. You will learn a lot about horse care, racing yard and Irish horse Racing as well as living in a rural Irish community. You might get to go racing.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking after horses in a racing yard. You will be required to work most saturday and sundays. There are other poeple working in the yard and one other workawayer sharing the house. You will be very flexible and free to travel or just go exploring the area on foot, bike or car. Or takes the dogs for a walk. There may be days that you would be at home alone - There will be food here but may need to cook for yourself at times. 4 hours x 5 days usually. The work is cleaning stables/yard, feeding horses, riding if capable of riding out race horses. We are also looking for someone to help around the house sometimes with cooking, cleaning, shopping, driving and any others jobs that might be required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Three bedroom workaway house. Own double bedroom in house for workaways. Shared bathroom. Kitchen and living room. Internet. Kitchen and food. House is near the main house and yard.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The South East of Ireland has fabulous scenery and countryside to explore by foot, bike or car. There is a beautiful walk/cycle nearby to a lovely lake. There are some lovely Irish villages nearby. And the is a local bus that brings to all the local towns. If you have a full driving licence and are over 23 years of age, you may be able to borrow a car. We can give you the loan of a bike (the roads are narrow and winding). And there are lovely walks on the farm and to the lake nearby. This would be a lovely experience for someone who enjoys horses, dogs and the countryside.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Shakesphere NO workaway can do without

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)














Host ref number: 985468581941