Garden, hike and relax in Pacific Northwest, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 229 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Ethan and Harris (father and son) welcome you to modern countryside living on 6 acres in beautiful Stanwood WA. Our home has lots of extra room for workawayers. You can choose from a variety of projects such as revitalizing an organic garden, house maintenance, language exchange, and of course enjoying the hiking, kayaking, and climbing opportunities in north Puget Sound and the Cascade mountains. Our property is an hour north of Seattle and two hours south of Vancouver BC with gorgeous beaches only 20 minutes away. When I'm not working I try to spend time with visitors doing sightseeing and outdoor activities. We live near a cute little town easily accessible by bicycle. There are three nice markets, a few restaurants, and a nearby large gym with swimming pool that you can use. At the house there is a hot tub that you are welcome to enjoy anytime. You will be living with an energetic 8.5 year old black belt in Tae Kwon Do who is also an aspiring comedian so be prepared to listen to some jokes! There is a friendly calico cat that likes being petted and provides hours of feline snuggling. 🐈

    You can help at your own pace and set your hours. We can host up to three people max depending on the situation. Happy to answer any questions.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our home is a great opportunity to experience the liberal and progressive side of America. We are non-religious and very open minded. We have hosted lots of travelers from Europe, Australia, and Taiwan through couchsurfing. We have also traveled extensively in Europe and once to Japan. Harris is a huge fan of learning language and Ethan tries as well without much success!

  • Help

    Help

    There are lots of projects for travelers to work on. Both indoor and outdoor work is available depending on the time of year and weather.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is one private guestroom with queen bed and full ensuite washroom including toilet, sink and shower. There is another private bedroom with shared full washroom as well as a large common room that can be used and has cardio gym equipment. High speed internet, modern kitchen, and food are included. There is a new, very clean hot tub on the patio that guests can use. And you can use a new gym close by that we belong to.

    Host will buy groceries and try to accommodate special diets. Vegans, vegetarians, pescatarians, and meat eaters are all welcome! It's a cannabis friendly house so you are welcome to enjoy some herbal relaxation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off can be spent hiking, boating, climbing and basically doing anything outdoors as this is one of the most beautiful locations in the world for outdoor activity. Seattle is only an hour away and we can arrange for you to get there relatively often if you wish to visit the city. There is public transport to both downtown Seattle and Vancouver available from nearby towns. We also tend to visit Vancouver often and you are welcome to join us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Cable modem with WiFi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    I have an indoor cat so if your pet is outside that's fine.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ethan and Harris chilling in nature
Local waterfall
Laure, Paula, Sara and the best hike in the world!
Local beach nearby house
Heather lake hike this winter
April tulip festival
My property
My front door

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 985435278775