Help out with animals and more with a beautiful view of Bruse Hill. Ulster, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 36 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hiya all.

    I am based on the Cavan/Leitrim/Longford border not far from where the three counties meet with a beautiful view of Bruse Hill.

    I keep Show Goats which are also used for milk and cheese production. I also have a small flock of sheep for meat and wool and occasionally milk also. Along with a Mangailtza sow.

    I have a variety of fruit also growing here and a young orchard. My passion is herbs and I am starting to get a collection going. The fruit gets processed into jams, chutneys and cordials along with some foraged fruits, flowers and herbs also. I am also in the process of getting the polytunnel up and running.

    This year I am planning on building a shed for the pig and to rearrange my hay barn into pens for the sheep and goats, along with the never ending task of fencing and repairs.

    I also have a collection of poultry, chickens ducks and geese for eggs , meat, and feathers.

    I am very rural here and am currently without transport, so own transport would be good, however it is also possible to walk to the local village a few kilometres away.

    I am really looking for a more mature couple as it is so rural, and there is a granny flat with a double bed, a woodburner, television and shower along with cooking facilities.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Coming here you can learn about the daily practicalities of being as self sufficient as you can be, and the practicalities of a working Smallholding.

  • Help

    Help

    The work here is varied and never set however there are regular morning and evening rounds with the animals, including morning milking. After that its a matter of what is a priority and what the weather dictates.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a self contained granny flat with a double bed, shower, kitchen, TV, cooker and woodburner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am situated not far from the Shannon Erne Blueway and in an area known for its fishing. Carrick on Shannon and Enniskillen are about 1 hours away and Cavan Town with the Cathedral is my nearest big town.
    I have had other volunteers from other websites here before.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 985381212176