Come and experience finnish culture and help out on our fruit farm in lovely surroundings in Kiila, Finland.

Country

Finland

Favourited 189 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    327

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have a half a hectare (ca. 1 acres) of organic apple trees next to our house. We need help mostly with apples in August and September. In addition to the apples we keep bees and chickens and grow vegetables and berries for our own use.

    In 2019 we would also need help for scraping and painting our house (outside walls) in the spring and starting a small nursery.

    We prefer a bit older volunteers. You should be at least 21 years old and have previous farming or other physical work experience. You should enjoy working independently. Tasks can be physically demanding.

    Volunteers can stay in a tent or in our house. We can take one volunteer at the time or two if you're a couple.

    About us: Tuija (43) is a mother of Uula (9) and Tilda (12). Juha (40) is Tuija's partner. Tuija is a part-time gardener, a massage therapist whose interests include singing, dancing, nature religions. Juha is a horticulturist. His hobbies include yin yoga, cycling, playing guitar and gardening.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are more than happy to teach you about finnish culture and teach you some finnish language if you are interested. And of course we will take you to a finnish sauna!

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment we would need people to help with painting the house walls (including scraping the old paint away) Work is hard so we prefer people who are used to do hard physical tasks.

    Autumn work includes picking, sorting out and processing apples.
    We also have a vegetable garden and a greenhouse / polytunnel, where there is a lot to do outside the apple season. We're also aiming to start a small nursery in our place.

    Sorry but we can not take people who need to be granted working visas, because this takes too much time at the moment.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    finnish, english, swedish (Juha is eager to learn spanish)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers can stay in a tent or a large bell tent (provided by us) or upstairs in our house. We can take one (or two if a couple) volunteers at the time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are located in Kemiönsaari (Kimito Island) in the southwestern archipelago. Nearest towns are Salo (27 km) and Turku (70 km). Our surroundings are very nice with plenty of forest, fields and a beach near by. On the other side of the road there is an organic garden & summer cafe with an art gallery. Nearest town with shops is 13 km away. On your free time you are very welcome to go cycling, pick blueberries, lingonberries and mushrooms from the surrounding forests and take our dog for a long walk.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Host ref number: 983766483786