1 / 4
updated  

Join our furry family of dogs, cats and stable next door in Panelia, Finland

  • Favourited 58 times
  • Last activity: 20 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    House and Pet Sitting in mid March till May
    Please get in touch if you would like to try this kind of experience on May-June 2024.

    Update to spring 2024.Help with the furry family is needed from the end of the May till mid June or a bit later.
    Current goal is to find a person, family or a couple interested in taking care of my furry family. I am listed on pet/house sitters now from the admins. Then we can also meet in person. My very good friend and neighbour is next door to help while I am away.

    Spring and early summer is amazing time here, if you like birdwatching and seasonal changes. The light in nature is extraordinary in this time of the year. Usually I am present in my home, this time I am traveling and looking for work opportunities as well as visiting my beloved friends.

    General of my life and this place I live: I met lovely workawayers on my internship time last winter in Athens, now I have got my degree, I live alone, my children are grown up and my family is now 3 dogs and two cats. I have this old house from mid 1800, gardens, outer buildings and a barn in pretty South West Finland, 130 km from Turku (port & airport) and also small distance from railway in Harjavalta. I am curious about life and stories of people. I do my own kind of art projects and I write.

    Lots of bird life, some deer and other wildlife, the little village has river and small rapids and old museum mill. Sea is about 30 min drive away, neighbour friend of mine has horses and chicken. My animals have pen and catio, though the dogs love long walks. They are family members and allowed everywhere in the house. One of my cats has mild case asthma and he has easily administered medicine twice a day.

    House has heaps of projects of reno, I use recycled materials and creativity. My budget is low, yet I have many ideas and very eager to learn and curious to experiment. There is little bit of painting, roofs need repairs (only if this interests someone). There are mosaic/ tiles projects to begin, toilet/ bathroom redoing, floors sanding & painting...
    The house is totally winter livable even now, yet many things need helping hands. I have quite a bit room upstairs for even many people to stay. One of the outer buildings has been planned to transform into a loft to and sauna for visitors. I would need help especially from May onward during the summertime, as in winter there is less possibility to do any work.
    Other times all kinds of help with garden and renovations are welcome. I prefer old fashioned methods and sustainable practices, I compost and grow organic. I am certified Natural Therapist and Cam specialist - as well as masseuse. My degree is about wellbeing & adventure tourism management and bit of events as well as futuristic research.

    I have traveled heaps around the world, also lived many years in different countries, Luxembourg, Australia, NZ, Italy... then all over Europe and some Asia for backpacking. I have couchsurfed, hosted, travelled and done work exchanges in the past.
    I am bilingual in English-Finnish and have studied also French, Swedish, Italian - and bits of German and other languages.
    I love writing, music, singing too, shaman drum, have one didgeridoo if anyone wants to try to play it...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Sharing stories, food, ideas, creating art and art related within the reno, learning to use recycled materials and build in old- fashioned style with wood mainly. Creating mosaics and other tile works. I will also share / teach my natural therapies, massage to them interested. Having the loving company of my sweet animals and most likely also neighbors horses to pat - even riding may an option. I am willing to take the visitors to see the area a bit, seaside, nearby cities, in summer there is also quite many festivals relatively close by. I do quite a bit handcrafts, so I can also show and talk about them... Learning languages, taking photographs, observing wildlife...

  • Help

    Help

    People who want to work with their creativity, hands on doing some parts of the reno and or garden projects. Love animals and like walking, even running with dogs. Spending good time together, cooking, sharing stories, long chats or meditation in quietude of nature. Skilled in building, willing to learn, want to see Nordic Spring/Summer and white nights magic. Tell me what you are good at, and lets talk more.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Swedish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am bilingual in Finnish and English - translating from other languages is also possible. Willing to teach and share my passion for languages and cultures, history

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Main house in the first place, outside loft building, when it has been altered to this purpose. Beds and mattresses and rooms are many. Cooking together or as agreed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I can pick up from railways, nearby cities, and take to excursion on the near area. Respecting the nature and keeping house welcoming for everyone - I am not super tidy, yet it helps to keep dishes clean after meals and some routines to overall functionality. Vacuum etc when needed, respect host and other people privacy when sharing house together - normal living othervise.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have good wifi in the house and even boosting antenna, though nowadays the nearest mast is just a km away. Wifi is good enough to stream movies, so most work is easy to perform.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This is countryside and my land has quite a bit of space, mostly in front of the barn or behind it. There is are plugs for electricity in the barn.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes if they can be amicable with dogs and cats

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 272516897467

Feedback (2)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Join our cooperative project of creativity, art and well-being in Raasepori, Finland
Creating a permaculture smallholding in the pine forests of Kiilam, southwest Finland