Animal rescue help with street cats and dogs in Chetumal, Mexico

Country

Mexico

new host  

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Im an animal rescuer, i rescue street cats and dogs, sterilize them to lessen their sufferng as there are not enough homes for them all, rehabilitate them and give them up for adoption. At the current moment i need help at our kitty senior center, most of the cats are over 15 years old, the oldest is Sparky who is 20 and blind. Most of these cats were pulled out of the water from plastic bags where people had thrown them in the sea as kittens to drown. I placed hundreds of animals in great homes overseas as there are just so many cats everywhere here & not enough homes. The cats at the senior homes just grew older waiting for homes & were never adopted, most have some type of medical problem but are still enjoying life and eat well. From lack of funding there are many things we will love to do to make life better for the animals but we barely are making it to feed and care for them. Some of the cats sleep in a home separted in different rooms and a few in their little rooms in the back yard according to their temperament. All cats get time in the small outdoor area for sun and fun. Please keep in mind that the lives of these animals are in between how a normal house cat pet & an the place would live & this is because there are many of them to care for at the same time.

    I live in the quiet coastal capital city of Chetumal, Mexico where there are lots of ruins, cenotes to visit and enjoy, the bay of chetumal is the sancutary for manatees. To say it in fewer words: there are many things to do and see nearby for a cheap price. We provide exclusive accommodation for 2 in a private home, in exchange for 2 hours of help a day for 5 days a week and bikes to explore.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a great oppurtunity to learn something new! Here you can learn about rescue work, You will also see and experience how people live in Mexico, and you can practice your spanish or english here with me. The nightlife is also great since there are a lot of students in Chetumal, the possibilities for going out is endless!

  • Help

    Help

    We are currently in need for various amounts of help.
    We are looking for 4 volunteers to help us out with feeding, cleaning, caring & cuddling for 40 cats and 10 dogs at our animal house 5 days a week with two days off for each person which will fluctuate. We accept close friends and couples but keep in mind that your day off has to be on different days as we really need to have coverage . If you are handy at fixing stuff , gardening, computers, updating social media etc. to help us put animals up for adoption thats great but its not a must. We also do large sterilization campaigns where we sterilize 500 animals on a weekend, and if the volunteer want to help in recovery area or prep area they are welcome. All the help we need around revolves around the work we do for animals.
    Also if you speak spanish its great as we want to start a program educating adults about animal care and children as well.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish and Creole

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The volunteers will live alone in a private house, have their own bathrooms and their kitchen which they are free to use as they want please to prepare their own meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On days off volunteers can visit ruins, cenotes, Belize , lagoons or just relax on the beach.
    These destinations are just a colcectivo away!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 983282665578