Help our friendly, arty family with French conversation in beautiful Melbourne, Australia



Favourited 29 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Friendly family of four - plus one black labrador - living in leafy Melbourne suburb. 45 mins - 1 hour to central Melbourne using public transport. Walking distance and free access to residents indoor swimming pool, gym, tennis courts. We have bikes and kayaks for you to use (and a nearby lake to paddle on). Easy-going professional family who love art, music, the outdoors, and meeting new people. LGBTQIA+friendly family. We would love to have guests who enjoy meal prep, fresh fruit and vege shopping, light cleaning and language practice. Family passions include art, music (violin and singing), theatre and movies, gardening, horse riding, painting furniture, biking, Park Run, travel, coffee and food! We are looking for guests for 1 - 2 week stay with skills or interests in some of the following areas:

    Languages - French, Spanish
    Fan Art
    Marvel Movies
    Harry Potter

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our arty family has lived in many countries, including in New Zealand, Africa and Europe. We love to travel and meet people from around the world. Brendan is a geology lecturer and loves to talk about rocks, earthquakes and all things geology. I am a designer maker and together with our spirited girls we dabble in all sorts of art and crafts and will happily share space, art materials and ideas with you. Brendan and I generally work from 9pm each night, but before that we are free and happy to help you with your English etc.

  • Help


    Basic household skills required. Regular tasks will include dinner prep, including fresh produce shopping and making salads etc. Light housework, such as after dinner clean-up, wiping down bathrooms, cleaning floors will be required. Spending time with girls in some area (language practice, shopping, art) will be one task. It is expected that all tasks will take no more than fifteen to twenty hours per week.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own comfortable bedroom with single bed, closet and shared bathroom. Meals and internet are provided. Large house with three living areas and garden mean there is always somewhere to relax. Free access to indoor swimming pool, gym, tennis courts nearby. We eat mostly vegetarian food but and are happy to host vegetarian, vegan or omnivore guests. Brendan is gluten-free, so while we are not an entirely gluten-free home, we happily cater for gluten-free guests.

    We wish to maintain a family environment and therefore any illegal drugs, smoking in or around our home or excessive consumption of alcohol are not permitted.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Easy access to public transport, with train into city taking about 35 minutes. Plus we have bicycles that you can borrow. Shopping centre is an easy walk with two supermarkets, fresh fruit, meat, seafood, pharmacy, doctor, cafes, restaurants etc. We live near wetlands, lake, river and it's a comfortable (mostly off-road) bike ride to a lovely beach. Although we are new to Workaway we have hosted many overseas students (while living in New Zealand) and still love to keep in touch with them.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 983255735513