Help with daily house chores in Värtsilä, close the the Russian border in Finland

Country

Finland

updated  

Favourited 338 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    524

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    53.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello all travelers! Ready for the new season 2021?

    I am calling you. I definately call for your help; maintaining the house and garden.

    This is place for all nature lovers, animal lovers and food lovers around the world! I have a dream to create self-sufficient estate growing and getting it’s own food as much as possible – and providing meeting place for nature loving travelers around the World.

    It is a huge old bohemian style house (former border authorities house) next to Russian border. House is located by small blue lake which is nature preservation area (part of EU’s Natura) for its’s birds. Summer season I run small B&B and next summer maybe a small garden cafe too.

    I have here a cat, Kitty, running the house 😊, 2 old Alaskan malamutes outside as well and chickens. During summer months I also have some lambs. And more might be coming, who knows.

    I have a huge garden and at the moment one green house, planning for the next ones. I grow a lot, for example tomatoes, salads, zuccini, peas, spinach etc. Growing my own food as much as possible is my target and as I planning to try starting autumn 2021 self-sufficient year without groceries. In Finland you can imagine that is a huge challenge. So I need more space to grow vegetables and to learn more how to use nature’s offerings better. Wild and garden vegetables, fresh lake fish and local food are on the menu every day

    For the free time I have one sauna inside the house and a tent sauna by the beach. You can go swimming when ever you want. Summer season here are some bikes available if you want to cycling and few canoes if you like to paddle in the lake or the river near-by. You can go walking in the local nature or even spend a night out there, there is a tent available. Of course we have here quite a bit of wild life, including wolves and bears. But they don’t hurt you if you don’t hurt them.

    You will have your own room and either own or shared toilette. This is a bohemian style house and under constant renovation, but I think you will love the place.

    I am fisherman and excellent cook with huge load of life experiencies, from workaway volunteer in Africa to high class cooking and organizing events. Excellent listener and endless source of life experiencies. I have been hosting volunteers already for 6 years.

    Evenings at the beachside campfire strengthen our community, cultural diversity creates richness, and communal yoga and meditation deepen our spirituality. Working in vegetable gardens will increase your understanding of the importance of clean food, and you will learn how to grow your own food. We grow, collect and fish the most of our meals. You may find here a new direction for your life and of course more understanding about ecoliving.

    Volunteers should be proficient in English, as an important reason for hosting is that I have an opportunity to practice my language skill.

    Volunteers are welcome here, with 1-3 volunteers at a time. Few friends are hosting volunteers too and sometimes we have parties together...

    This place has good vibes😊

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can explore a mystical Karelian culture, visit various cultural attractions in the surrounding areas. If you are here for a longer period of time, we can also apply for a Russian visa for you and visit Russian Karelia.

  • Help

    Help

    I need assistance with daily house work, such as housekeeping, gardening, making firewood, small renovating jobs, berry picking, mushroom picking. Depends on the season.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room and daily meals (no meat apart from fish) are provided, WI-FI, sauna everyday if needed, and a free gym is also available in the village nearby.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Leisure summer activities: cycling, canoeing, rowing, swimming, hiking, bird and bear watching, fitness, yoga, fishing, rafting, berry picking and mushroom picking...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 983142569269