1 / 5

Have fun with my kids and learn about our food and culture in Sabae, Japan

  • Favourited 120 times
  • Last activity: 12 May 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Hi! My name is Mayuko. We are a family of 4, containing me, my husband Masao and our two kids who are 4 and 6. We have been hosting travelers and students studying abroad for over 20 years and speak Japanese fluently and English on an intermidiate level. I am a english teacher and have a passion for learning bits of different language and different cultures. My family is located in Sabae, Fukui prefecture, which is a town in the middle-west of Japan. The city of Sabae is part of the country side, surrounded by mountains, so if you like nature, you will be able to enjoy that here.

    One or two day stays are also welcome!

    We like hosting foreign people, because of our love for different cultures and languages.

    We hope to see you soon.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We pride ourselves on our knowledge and execution of different cuisines, both food and SAKE. We love culture and would like to share our way of living with people from all over the world. Come and share our food culture and have some good Sake and conversation with us.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We would love for our kids to grow up in a culturally diverse enviroment, so please take time to play with our kids and speak to them in either english or your own language!

    I also have other projects that I may want help with. These projects may include:
    - Helping me upkeep my garden, aswell as my vegetablegarden.
    - Helping with my study cafes that I host once in a while, by speaking with the students in English or Japanese aswell as helping me make the beverages and food for the kids.
    - Helping with cleaning in the house or cooking meals from your country.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Japanese: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    Hi Im fluent Japanese speaker. Lets share the culture together!

  • Accommodation


    You will be able to stay in your own room as long as another guest is not already occupying the room. In that instance you can either share the room with another workawayer or sleep on futon. We share a bathroom and a kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in Sabae city, closest station is Shinmei station and Sabae station. It takes 1 hour to Kanazawa, 1 hour half to Kyoto, 2 hours to Osaka and 3,5 hours to Tokyo, by train. The city is famous for their crafting of Japanese eyewear.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have wifi that you can use.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes we have a parking place to stay your campervan.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 3days a week

Host ref number: 982896569229

Feedback (5)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help us take care of our temple in the countryside of Nagoya, Japan
Help at a vegetable farm in Yoichi-gun, Hokkaido, Japan