Endless Blue Skies. Alberta, Canada.

Country

Canada

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/02/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four, living in West Central Alberta, Canada, in a farming community near Edmonton. As a single mother with a business, I am looking for some help with odds and sods around the home, but mainly help with child care.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living in a small farming community, there will be trips to the family farm to help out and explore. This may include herding goats and building fences. In town, where we reside, we have walking trails and a host of community events and festivals that are ongoing, especially during the spring and summer. If you happen to be visiting us during July and August, we set work aside for the Edmonton Folk Music Festival, for which we have been volunteering the last 10 years as a family (there maybe an opportunity to volunteer as well, if your stay is long enough). Located near the Rocky Mountains, there are opportunities to hike and climb, as well as visit the hot springs. Some wilderness camping and exploring. We are looking forward to inviting new people into our home to be a part of the family, share in good food and experience life in west central Alberta.

  • Help

    Help

    The primary concern is child care and food preparation. Basic housework and maybe occasionally mowing the lawn. My daughters all speak French, so French is an asset, as we aim to keep learning. A drivers license is a huge asset, as outings often are more than walking distance from the house (vehicle provided).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A fully furnished private bedroom in a house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I drive to the city almost daily, so lots of opportunities to check out Edmonton and the sights there. There is a variety of bicycles to choose from and miles of trails to bike or walk locally. In our community there are several festivals and local events that take place in the spring summer and fall, along with a weekly local farmers market.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Local Swimming "Hole": North Saskatchewan River
Survival Camp, Learning how to make Super Shelters
Edmonton Fold Music Festival 2018
Host ref number: 982869823937