Experience life in strawberry farm in the vibrant county of Galway, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 291 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    we have small farm in west of Ireland serving people around nearby villages, where we grow various fruits specially strawberries and cranberries. we might not need help all years but depending on season, would appreciate volunteers to help with berry pickings and gardening.

    we are international family came to Ireland quite long about 20 years back, and nature of Ireland didn't let us leave ! so we set up organic farm where we don't have mass production and it's mostly community based farm where local people from nearby villages also come to help us time to time, so volunteers will have opportunity to meet locals and share our way of life !

    In the evening, most of us enjoy sitting together, sometime playing some music, other time reading literature together so you are welcome to join us :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is whole lot of botany goes along when in comes to growing berries which is always interesting to learn and apart from that, a sense of community, spend time in nature with us. we are also curios to learn new things about various culture and language!

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    we would need help on Misc task such as maintenance of plants, berry picking, farm cleaning - but it's not up to you to do all, we will work together with you on every task :-)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Cottage with 2 single bed for guest / volunteers

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are so many beautiful places to visit with in couple of hours for example : Aran Islands, Galway city, Cliffs of Moher, Connemara national park !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 3 days a week


Host ref number: 982782619297