Self sustainable family farm needs practical help in north negev, Israel

Country

Israel

Favourited 115 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/03/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young happy family welcoming any enthusiastic volunteers to our family farm!
    We raise sheep, chickens, ducks and bees here.
    we'd like some help in our vegetable garden, and with the animals and on-going building projects.
    In long term we'd love to be self-sustainable i.e. no need to buy from any shops.
    Twice a day our sheeps need to go to graze across the property. We harvest them from the vegetable garden for our own consumption but is always depending on the changing seasons.
    We also plant grains such as wheat and barley, and we make our own flour for bread or pita and flatbread.
    We also grow some fruit trees throughout the season. And part of the farm is filled with rare medical plants.

    We need help with planting new crops, and in the organic vegetable garden. Also to take care of our animals and some building projects. There are many places in the area that you could go pick wild fruits or just to relax.
    We'd also like your help to preserve plants that are at risk of extinction here in Israel. We are located centrally and is well connected to the other parts of the country- there are frequent bus services to Tel Aviv, Jerusalem and Beer Sheva. We welcome you as a member of our family and to share meals together :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project

  • Help

    Help

    Depending on your interests and skills, we can try and match your help with different projects and priorities. Workawayers will be expected to help the minimum of 4 hours a day and 5 days a week. You will be given room and food to prepare on your own in our well equipped kitchen.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english and hebrow

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    either a room in the main house or a caravan

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is some caves and interesting spots nearby , and the beach is not that far away . we also go to the market once a week and you are welcome to join .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 982586114252

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more