Help out on a farm in one of Frances hidden gems, the glorious Percheron natural Park.

Country

France

Favourited 111 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    68.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    The area of the Perche is stunning!! glorious countryside with old stone farms doted around in the rolling hills. Ancient forests with miles of walking tracks, Beautiful small cities of character..cultural delights everywhere...and of-coarse the Percheron horses that give their name to the park.. this really is a wonderful place to visit.

    Last year we purchased a beautiful old farm in the heart of the Perche in between Belleme and Mortagne au Perche..the house itself is an old stone farm building with stables, it is an ongoing renovation project and there is lots to do so we would welcome anyone with building skills..

    The farm also has a wealth of old fruit trees, apples, pears, mirabelles etc and we will be looking in the future at making produce and getting it to market...as it’s out first year here it’s a new project, we will be exploring different avenues, permaculture, bio etc and we will also be looking to make a herbal garden with a view to producing herbs for cooking and also herbal home remedies, tinctures, flower essence etc....its a new and exciting journey and we want to learn more about Mother Nature and what she can provide..

    As well as the farm we have horses and dogs, riding and walking is joy here, Jacqui’s riding horse is a big genital Normandy cob, we also have a part retired thoroughbred from the U.K. and a Portuguese rescue pony.

    We would invite anyone with a keen interest in gardening, horticulture, cooking, conserving renovation, animals, farming and in general an appreciation of the glorious countryside.

    There is building works, landscaping, fencing, animal car, farm work etc etc

    We offer a warm welcome and a beautiful place to visit and experience the countryside and culture of the Perche, our accommodation is basic at the moment whilst we progress with the renovation works but the glorious location more than makes up for it.

    Please message me for more details

    Thanks jacqui

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Culturally, the area is rich in architecture, hidden gems, and glorious countryside. Two of our nearby cities are small cities of character and are busy through the summer months with tourists visiting the area..we are less than two hours to Paris, an hour to LeMans and Chartres, there’s a local train line and in the summer there are great brocantes,

  • Help

    Help

    I need some help with a variety of different projects on the farm from general building, to horticulture to animal care

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is quite basic as I am renovating the house, shared use of kitchen, shower room and wc. Location more than makes up for basic accommodation

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Location is everything and my farm is in the perfect location for hiking, cycling, riding, in the heart of the Percheron natural parc it is in an area of outstanding beauty and very close to the city of Belleme and Mortagne au Perche. The farm itself needs work, it is old and rundown, it doesn’t yet have homely comforts but the location is just so special for anyone who loves the countryside as much as I do just being here is a joy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 474857857843