Help with horses and my garden near Angles sur L'Anglin, France

  • Favourited 278 times
  • Last activity: 14 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am English and have lived in this area of France for over 25 years. I am passionate about nature, re-wilding. horses, gastronomy,France and travel. Over the last few years my herd of horses has grown to eight -many of them rescued. They all need regular attention, grooming, mucking out or just contact with humans. They love attention and being around humans but they are not ridden. Mostly they are too old and are not sound.
    My home is set in 10 acres of woodland and pasture a few minutes away from Angles sur L'Anglin one of France's most beautiful villages. Miles of country tracks start from the gate offering wonderful walking, riding and cycling and the nearby river can be explored by canoe and is great for wild swimming.
    It is very quiet here and so guests really need to enjoy nature and the tranquillity of the French countryside. The nearest large town is Poitiers which is 45 mins by car. There is no public transport but I am happy to take my workawayers with me whenever I go out and about.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am bilingual and am happy to help with French conversation. I owned a local restaurant for many years and am always happy to share my understanding of French gastronomy with visitors. People tell me my cooking is good. I love cooking for any diet so vegans and vegetarians are very welcome. If people are interesting in learning about horsemanship I am happy to share my knowledge on this subject too or learn from my guests!

  • Help

    Help

    Help required will be varied. General stable duties-mucking out, hay, watering and lots of grooming. General maintenance duties around the property, painting, varnishing and clearing barns. Garden duties may include: weeding, strimming, wood clearing depending on the weather.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am a native English speaker and also speak French. If people are interested we can converse in either language.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Very, very comfortable double bedded suite with private bathroom and kitchenette, plus an additional double room. Good for friends or couples.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport locally but Angles sur L'Anglin is a ten minute bike ride away and guests are welcome to borrow my bikes. The Vienne has a rich history, the village of Angles is very beautiful and was originally under the control of a powerful family- the Lusignans and formed part of Alienor of Aquitaine's lands. The town of St Savin is just next door and the Abbey has been recognised by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site. The colourful market town of Chauvigny is worth a visit and I am happy to give guests a lift there on Saturday's.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    My Internet connection is OK. I work from home and I manage fine. However, storms can mean the connection is tricky, from time to time. That is just life in the countryside.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    For workawayers travelling by campervan there is good hard standing all over the property.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 981486591914

Feedback (2)


Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Nice little community living in small and peaceful hamlet in the woods, earing birds songs, based in The Loire Valley, France
Help us with creating a space based on Permaculture principles in Penne d'Agenais, France