Join our family on the beach at Quadra Island, BC, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 98 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/03/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we live on the beach on the south end of Quadra Island. We are a small family with a toddler and a dog (and chickens). We love to travel and are very outdoorsy. My husband speaks conversational French and I speak conversational Spanish (and we would love to practise!). We could use some help with a variety of jobs though we primarily need help with cleaning in our house and our vacation rental. Other jobs could be: chopping/stacking firewood, painting, gardening, general maintenance, feeding & cleaning the chicken coop. etc ....We live about a ten minute drive from the shops but always have a well stocked kitchen.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live on the water and spend a lot of time watching the sea life and weather constantly change. We enjoy a quiet life with our day mostly focused on our daughter. We also like to forage for shell fish, berries, and mushrooms and we love sharing and eating local food.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for general help, gardening and cleaning in the house and our vacation rental. For example: cleaning the house (walls, cupboards, windows, floors, washrooms etc), cleaning out the chicken coop, feeding the chickens, chopping/stacking firewood, interior painting of house, digging a compost hole, organizing cupboards etc. We would welcome specialized skills like carpentry, interior/exterior painting or landscaping but that is not necessary. As well, if you have building or renovating experience we would have jobs for you but that is not expected.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house has 3 bedrooms upstairs and one toilet with a tub/shower (a second toilet and shower is downstairs). Your room is a small bedroom beside the bathroom, and you have a double bed and a small loft bed, a dresser and a closet. Your bedroom window faces the ocean (east). From your room you will hear the chickens and the baby. The kitchen is downstairs. I make breakfast and dinner every day, sometimes lunch but usually we snack for lunch. I am happy if you want to make meals but I am also okay doing all the cooking. I LOVE food and we eat everything but I am happy to help with some dietary restrictions (though our kitchen has all food in it). We would all eat together as a family. Please remember to contribute as a family member and help with dishes, do your own laundry and keep the common areas tidy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our home would be suitable for someone who likes quiet time, walking on the beach or spending time outdoors. It is a remote and stunningly beautiful location. We often see whales swim past the house, and the eagles, sea lions and seals are always around. We live a 10 min drive to the shops, and if you want to go to the city (Campbell River) that is another 15 minutes away (by ferry). I am not available to drive you around but you would always be welcome to come along if I’m going into town or going for a walk (I go out most days). As well, it is quite common to hitch rides around the island. There is a walking trail close to the house and we walk the dog in the neighbourhood.

    The closest international airport is Comox. The easiest way to get to Quadra Island is to fly into Campbell River or take a bus (Island Link) from
    Vancouver, Victoria or Nanaimo. This bus drops you off right at the ferry. We would pick you up at the ferry and I would try my best to come get you from the airport (but I can’t always).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 981132995791