Join a family in Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 202 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Magna and I live in North-Iceland, in the Capital town Akureyri. I'm married, but my husband work on the east side so he is often away during the working days. We have a house in the centre of the town (only 5 min walking) and we have a dog, a Chow Chow that is 2 years old, name Perla (Pearl). There is a garden around the house and in a walking distant is the beautiful Botanic Garden, as the swimming-pool. In the basement lives our son and daughter in law, he is working and she is studying to become a nurse. We mostly would you to be one of the family, but also taking care of the cleaning, tidying and laundry. Working in the garden now and then would be nice or getting some idea of how to design it better. You will have your own room as we have two extra rooms in the house. Sometime we get our grand children for visiting and we always look forward to their visit. We go camping now and then, depending on the weather were we go.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a Tour guide and know my country very well. I will take you on tours when I can and tell you about things to do that tourist may not know of. Also we have another home in the east Iceland, where my husband work, and now and then we would go there.

  • Help

    Help

    We are mostly looking after someone that could help us to clean and tidy the house, changing bed-lines and do the laundry. A typical housework. You will need to have a driving-license.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will get your own bed-room, with a closet to put clothes. We can cook together in the evening and have dinner together, or if you want you can cook for you self. You will be your one boss there if you like to. We have both washing machine and drier, so you can wash your clothes whenever you like. There is wi-fi in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In Eyjafjordur you could find a lot of thing to do, Whale watching, hiking, visiting horse farm, the Christmas house, the old Turf-house Laufas, going to the small village around Akureyri, for ex. Siglufjordur, Olafsfjordur, Dalvik, Grenivik, the small island Hrisey or to Grimsey island, where you can cross the Arctic Circle and get a certificate about that. The beautiful waterfall Godafoss is on your way to Myvatn, Husavik is a small town, famous for the Whale watching and the Whale museum. So if you like to travel and see the North-Iceland while staying with us, we will help you to explore it as much as we can. The Bus goes between Reykjavik and Akureyri every day, as to East - Iceland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 979948422946