Help with our off-grid yurt in a tranquil valley of Cyprus, Simou

Country

Cyprus

Favourited 303 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1085

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there!
    My name is Pawel. Originally I come from Poland, I've settled in Cyprus over 10 years ago.
    I own and run a small, alternative bed&breakfast and venue set in peaceful, rural Sarama Valley in Cyprus. I started this project in 2013 and it's been an exciting, fulfilling and rewarding experience.
    I am dedicated, with attention to details and high stamina. I always love to learn new things and experiment.
    I love nature and being outdoor. In my free time I travel, read books, climb, hike and day dream.
    I live with my Polish girlfriend Justyna, a super friendly dog called Shukra and 2 cats - Cindy and Squeeky.

    We are an off grid project with 3 authentic Mongolian yurts, 1 tiny house called Koliba, event area and a straw bale house (dining area for the guests, owner's and helper's accommodation) - all built on 2.5 acres of land.
    The property blends with the surrounding fields, meadows and hills.
    I'm open and busy all year. Occasionally I organise music events and wellness (yoga, meditation) workshops.
    The nearest village is 3 km away, nearest town (Polis) and beach - 16 km.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a great opportunity to experience off-grid living. Tons to learn (hence minimum 1 month).
    The area is stunning - one of the best in Cyprus. If you love nature then you will feel at home instantly.
    Cyprus is also a beautiful Mediterranean island with over 300 days of sunshine, very hospitable people and great cultural heritage.
    Our visitors are like-minded, super lovely and it always feel like friends come to stay with you - chance for interesting chats or deep conversations - you choose!

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    Hey guys!
    At the moment I am looking for a helper to assist me with some heavy landscaping, building, earth moving, concrete mixing, carpentry jobs.
    A few ongoing and new projects include dry stone wall building, lime plastering, prepping the ground for a superadobe earthbag dome which I plan to start building in Autumn 2020.
    Hours can be irregular so some flexibility is essential - I'm also super flexible :-)

    Hours are 5 per day on average with 2 days off a week - regular stuff :-)
    Minimum stay - 1 month. I'm asking for this due to the nature of the place and the time it takes to settle in, unless you have the experience of living in an "off the grid" place.

    I am looking for an individual with a "can do" attitude, wanting to experience off-grid living and co-creating a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere. Guests visiting this place are like-minded, nature lovers and many visit regularly.
    Ideally you'd have some experience with any jobs listed above and share it with me - I also want to learn.
    The landscaping help is very, very hard so you need to have a good level of fitness and in the summer able to work early morning or late afternoon, when the sun isn't too strong.

    Apart from that the grounds are huge so there is always some work involved in tree care and I have an ongoing permaculture project.

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteer accommodation is in a house in a private room.
    The bathroom will be shared with the owner.
    The house also contains a communal lounge and a kitchen where we serve breakfast and dinner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have bicycles that you're welcome to use. There are regular buses that go from main road (where I can drop you off) to Pafos and Polis. Also Cyprus is super easy to hitchhike - I do it all the time for fun :-)
    Cyprus, an island in the eastern Mediterranean, has rich, turbulent history stretching back to antiquity. Known for its beaches, it has a rugged interior with wine-growing regions. Coastal Paphos is famed for its archaeological sites relating to the cult of Aphrodite, including ruins of palaces, tombs and mosaic-adorned villas.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day on average, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)








Host ref number: 979224841692