Berkshire Mountains of Western Massachusetts, USA; multi cultural co housing home.

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 47 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome ! I am a midwife, & social justice activist & a humanist with an active interesting lifestyle. I’ve done work on the US / Mexico border with immigrants and disaster relief in Puerto Rico. Lived off maInland USA extensively.
    My land is shared with another small home and mini house; my primary home is multicultural. French, Spanish, Portuguese and Wolof currently spoken by persons here, summer 2019.
    I am extending an invitation to a s persons who can Paint, use electric sander, plaster, sparkle before painting ,prune trees oraganizing basement etc. Offering cohousing and cultural immersion in our bohemian lifestyle.
    We’re located in the Berkshire Mountains of Western Massachusetts- country but not rural. We are on a well traveled road The village of LenoxDale.
    The Berkshires are rich in alternative lifestyles , healing centers , arts, music, hiking , skiing & activism. Massachusetts is medical and recreational cannabis state. Located about 2.5 hours to NYC and Boston. 1 hour to Albany NY. 1.15 hour to Hartford Connecticut.

    My home is my temple, I maintain a relaxed respectful vibe . Co-housers maintain a harmonious cooperative relationship with one another with deep respect for each other’s personal space. My home is filled with tasteful artwork, comfortable beds , furnishings, home cooked food and interesting people coming and going. Woodstove but gas heat too, large windows, considering it’s a nearly 100 year old house!
    I am a community builder and networker and can help you connect locally for a rich experience. No hard partying or indoor smoking .

    I have an acre of land and am needing help with firewood, gardens,property management , , pruning trees,shrubs. If weather bad indoor jobs like painting porch, organizing basement , etc. before high winter sets in.
    I seek those with a “can do” kinda of attitude and willingness to help and interact , not seeking any highly complex work projects.

    Someone who has experience safely running chain saw & splitting wood is plus.

    Workaway guest will have private room w shared bathroom. Unless your availability overlaps with bnb guest. Then front finished porch becomes your room.
    Access to common rooms in house and outdoor deck. I will provide ( or we will cook together) at least one solid meal a day and breaky. Mostly plant based protein , eggs, limited cheese and meat. Rule of thumb is those that don’t cook help with dishes.
    I invite a Workawayer who has developed their ability to cohouse harmoniously , likes to share meals and activities but who also has stability in self and autonomy.

    Possible access to occasional use of car & rides, bike. Accmpany me on lake swims & some cultural events.
    On a local bus line that goes to town of about 7000 & has a busline to major cities .
    POC LGBTQ inclusive home.
    Habla espanol pero no perfectamente .

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This region is a wealth of Americana history museums, music, etc. Unsurpassed natural beauty. Local farm fresh foods Woman’s health, herbology, natural food cooking, spiritual based living , local social justice groups, household members who are international . Sometimes live music on site.

  • Help

    Help

    You: Love of land and adventure , skilled with home repairs or detailed enough to learn to do painting, sanding etc, tree & shrub pruning, fall clean up, organizational skills. Interpersonal skills , desire local flavor and cultural immersion.
    Me : owner in residence of Heart of the Shire.
    Us: multicultural residents some on work visas busy working in community , others long term residents of Berkshires

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English Spanish Portuguese French Woolof spoken here.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room in home w shared bath, if your availability overlaps with current bnb guest in spare room there will be some juggling of beds. Including use of front finished porch as sleeping quarters or The Cloud room up ladder .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Massachusetts is a medical and recreational approved cannabis state.
    In summer, the Berkshire are a cultural haven for arts, dance and many free activities.
    In winter cold harsh but many ski resorts.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 979138481533