updated  

English language teaching asistant in Los Lagos, Chile

  • Chile
  • Favourited 174 times
  • Last activity: 06/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi , our names are Drake and Constanza. We are 7 and 6 years old and we go to school in Los Lagos, a rural town of 10,000 people, 50km from Valdivia, Región de Los Ríos, Chile. We are looking for a native English speaking volunteer to help our teachers and our classmates learn very basic English and pronounce words correctly. Please contact our Dad, Glynn Byles, if you are interested to come and help us. We need volunteers during the teaching periods from March until December .
    Tia Melissa is the head teacher and owner of the school. She will be organising your daily routine. She speaks very good English and spent six months in the USA. Apart from Melissa and a Chilean English teacher , the other teachers and students speak very little English. You will need at least intermediate spanish to be able to communicate with the teachers and students. It would be preferable if you have teaching or TEFL qualification and be able to plan your own lessons. It could be a very rewarding experience for the right sort of person. We can only take on one volunteer at a time, and the ideal stay time would be one semester ( March to June or August to December) to get time to know the students and our teachers.
    The covid situation has improved considerably recently . You will need to be fully vaccinated and have a vaccination certificate validated for Chile. At present there is no quarantine on entry to Chile. However you will need to have a PCR test before your flight and on arrival in Chile. You will also need medical insurance . All the teachers have been fully vaccinated.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is a great opportunity to live, see and interact with teachers and students in a small rural Chilean town. You will be very much immersing yourself into Chilean life and culture.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with English language teaching to nursery and primary school children. There are two schools. One is the pre-school (3-5 year olds) and is in the town of Los Lagos. It has 90 students and 4 teachers. You can walk to get here .
    The primary school (5 - 12 year olds) in the countryside 10km from Los Lagos and a bus is available for transport. It has 83 students and 5 teachers.
    You will be helping classes of 10 - 15 students along with a teacher and a teaching assistant (a student teacher). Tia Melissa has lots of English teaching material available. The English taught will be at a very basic level. The main objective is to help us with good pronunciation, basic words and sentences and stimulate interest in learning English.
    So if you can help us with this project it would be a great benefit to the local community.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation is with Señora Marta and don Heriberto, the parents of tia Melissa.. There is a cook that will provide meals for the volunteer. There is a private bedroom and a bathroom available on the second floor of the house for the use of the volunteer. Señora Marta and don Heriberto live on the first floor. Tia Melissa`s parents do not speak English.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Los Lagos is situated on Rio San Pedro in very beautiful coutryside, with lots of native forest. The region is famous for its rivers, lakes, mountains and volcanoes. Valdivia, is a 45 minute bus ride away. It is a popular tourist destination with a colourful fish and vegetable market attended by many visitors including sea lions and pelicans. Niebla is on the coast and has historic forts that can be visited by ferry boat. Pucon is a great place to visit for a long weekend and you may like to climb Volcan Villarica. Maybe one weekend you would like to come to see our farm and we can show you around to see our cows , calves, chickens, dogs and cats. Our Dad, Glynn is English and my mummy, Eve is Chilean. We could go and visit one of the lakes or towns nearby.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 978826633561

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Help us improve some land in Puerto Varas, Chile
Join to improve our eco-farm and share our culture of the sea and countryside in Los Lagos, Chile