Come and help with eco-building in Baal, Belgium

Country

Belgium

updated  

Favourited 164 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    282

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We do a straw bale building
    Low budget, but high fun! Wood skeleton, filled with straw bales. the walls covering with lime.
    We are a Belgian family of 5, kids are 21, 19 and 14 years, living on the countryside. We bought our house after returning from almost 4 years of living in South-Africa , where we volunteer for a Belgian NGO. Our family is growing so we need to expand a bit. We chose the most ecological and budget-friendly option, and we hope to finish the first part this year .
    Experience is not necessary, just a good pair of hands and a willing mind.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I imagine us sitting on the terrace, after a good days work, have some wine, and discuss life and the world. We traveled a lot ourselves, the best moments were the moments I stayed in families and close to local people. It broadened my view on the world.
    This is an opportunity for travelers that are interested in building with straw, first hand! You are welcome in our family, and we can exchange a lot.

  • Help

    Help

    The two rooms on the second floor are nearly finished. Some details and they are good to go. Next are the bathroom and the first floor. Cobbing again, also the floor this time.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We provide a small caravan and a tent in the backyard, with electricity .. We provide meals at our place, toilet and shower is in the house. There is also a fireplace.
    I've extended the internet up to the backyard now.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a rural area, but there are good transportation connections close, train station at 5 kms, you can use a bike (it's flat here). Just 35 mins by train to Brussels, Leuven, Antwerp. So if you want to take a day off, no problem, We will mostly be busy in the mornings and have free time in the afternoon, have dinner in the evening.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.7)












Host ref number: 751297158521