Help me to start an organic garden and improve the biodiversity of Feria in Extremadura, Spain

Country

Spain

new host  

Favourited 5 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! My name is Alejandro, Im a 36 years old guy and Im starting to build a market garden organic farm in Feria (Extremadura, southwest spain). The farm is located in a rich nature environment next to a river with many birds and other wild animals.
    My dream is to be able to produce enough vegetbables to be able to get a salary out of this. But Im just starting the farm, there are still so much work to do so and there is no money coming from the farm other than for paying the renting cost. Thats one of the reason I would apreciate to have volunteers coming, so I can get some help building the place.
    Besides my organic farming projet, I also want to improve the area where the farm is located adding biodiversity: planting wild trees, placing bee hives,...

    Before becoming a farmer I was architect focus in sustainable architecture, mainly strawbale and earth construction, But after a few years I decided to split to my other passion, and became an organic farmer. In the past, I have live, study and work in many countries around europe. I speak English and french (beside spanish of course). I will be delighted to share with you this place but also to learn about your vital experience.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It will depends on how open you are to go out and meet people in the village and sorroundings, but people here are very open and friendly here. Exchange will be potentially richer if you speak spanish.

  • Help

    Help

    volunteers are asked to help mainly with market garden tasks: seeding, plowing, planting, watering, harvesting... but also helping improving the place like building small structures, repairing the fences, planting trees in the river and sorroundings...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As the buildings in the farm are not yet restored, the accomodation will be at our home in Feria (8km from the farm). You will have your own room, full internet, and the toilet will be shared only with our little daugther. If you rather prefer to sleep in the nature of the farm there is no problem, but you will have to bring your tent, sleeping bag, kitchen tools and so (we can borrow some stuffs in case). In that case I'll bring food there and you can always come at home to shower, connect to internet... Take in consideration that there is very little mobile phone network in the farm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    meeting people in the village, birdwatching, hiking around the village through any of dozens paths we have, visiting villages around... We can give you some nice advices of places to visit.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have 10mb internet conection at home that is enough to have decent videoconferences, downloading and uploading files, watching videos... On the farm there is no mobile network.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You are more than welcome as it simplify the acommodation organization. You can decide to park in the farm or in the village

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I cannot accept pets at home, but if you stay at the farm there is no problem

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 976345269746